Archives—February 2011

2011 Michigan Tech Distinguished Teaching Awards

The Center for Teaching, Learning, and Faculty Development seeks input for its annual Distinguished Teaching Awards, which recognize outstanding contribution to the instructional mission of the University. Based on over 51,000 student rating of instruction forms, eleven finalists have been identified for the 2011 awards. The selection committee is soliciting comments from students, staff, faculty, and alumni to aid in its deliberation process.  Here are the finalists for the two awards:

Associate Professor / Professor Category

Brian Barkdoll (Associate Professor) – Civil and Environmental Engineering
Andrew Burton (Associate Professor) – Forest Resources and Environmental Science
Will Cantrell (Associate Professor) – Physics
Guy Hembroff (Associate Professor) – Technology
John Lukowski (Associate Professor) – Electrical and Computer Engineering

Assistant Professor / Lecturer / Professor of Practice Category
Philip Kendall (Lecturer) – Mathematical Sciences
Michael Meyer (Senior Lecturer) – Physics
Scott Miers (Assistant Professor) – Mechanical Engineering – Engineering Mechanics
Rupak Rajachar (Assistant Professor) – Biomedical Engineering
David Wanless (Assistant Professor) – Technology
Roger Woods (Lecturer) – Business and Economics

Comments on the nominees should be sent to the Center for Teaching via its comment website: .  Comments are due by Monday, March 28, 2011.

The process for determining the Distinguished Teaching Award recipients from this list of finalists also involves the additional surveying of their classes by members of ODK.  The Distinguished Teaching Award Decision Committee makes the final determination of the award recipients.  The recipients of the 2011 Distinguished Teaching Award will be formally announced in the fall.