Spring 2010 Consortium Meeting, Ishpeming, Michigan

A short blog posting and photos from this event are posted here.

What follows is the detailed information sent out in advance of the meeting for potential attendees.

====================================================

The Northland Historical Consortium will convene its Spring 2010 meeting on Saturday, May 22, 2010, at the Cliffs Shaft Mine Museum in Ishpeming.

The meeting will feature a presentation by Dr. Terry Reynolds on the history of the Cleveland Iron Mining Company and the Iron Cliffs Company, their activity in Ishpeming and at the Cliffs Shaft site, and their role as predecessors of the Cleveland Cliffs Iron Company on the Marquette Iron Range. The day will be rounded out with tours of the Cliffs Shaft Museum’s buildings, grounds, and interpretive exibits.

A luncheon is included in the $15 registration fee and pre-registration is required by Friday, May 14, to make adequate preparations for this event.

==============================================
SCHEDULE
9:00 eastern/8:00 central
Registration and coffee

9:30 eastern/8:30 central
Welcome

9:45 eastern/8:45 central
“A Tale of Two Ishpeming Iron Mines: Cleveland Iron and Iron Cliffs.” Michigan Technological University historian and professor Terry Reynolds will review the development of iron mining on the Marquette Range, focusing on two of early Ishpeming’s leading iron companies:  the Cleveland Iron Mining Company and the Iron Cliffs Company, the corporate ancestors of the modern Cleveland-Cliffs Iron Company (now Cliffs Natural Resources). The presentation will highlight specific work at the Cliffs Shaft site and the types of mining company records that are of value in historical work on mining history.

10:45 eastern/9:45 central
Break

11:00 eastern/10:00 central
“The Cliffs Shaft Museum: Preserving A Historic Mining Site.” Narrated tours of the mine’s dry/changing building and its interpretive displays will highlight the work of the Cliffs Shaft Mine Museum to preserve and interpret the site and its history. Groups will also tour the tunnels connecting the dry/change house to the shaft house, as well as other buildings and the grounds.  

12:00 eastern/11:00 central
Lunch (included with $15 registration)

1:00 eastern/Noon central
Business Meeting of the Northland Historical Consortium, including brief reports from the Consortium member organizations on recent activities, problems, successes and future plans.

2:30 eastern/1;30 central
Attendees will have the opportunity for additional tours of the Cliffs Shaft Mine Museum, including the rooms of the Rock and Mineral Club, the Ishpeming Historical Society and the Marquette County Genealogical Society, as well as the Cliffs Shaft gift shop.  A video presentation about the site will also be available for viewing.

——————————————————-
REGISTRATION

Please postmark registration by Wednesday, May 14, 2010
$15.00 registration fee is required of all attendees and includes lunch, refreshments, and admission to the museum’s buildings and grounds.  

Please provide the following information as you would like it to appear on your name tag.

Name:  

Institution:

Mailing address:    

City/State/Zip Code:  

Daytime Phone:

E-mail address:

Please mail your completed form and include $15.00 check payable to Cliffs Shaft Mine Museum
Mail to:  Mary Skewis, 642 E. Empire Street, Ishpeming, MI 49849
Please send a separate form for each attendee, though a single check is acceptable for groups.

Questions?   Contact Mary Skewis at 906-486-8300 / MCS642E@aol.com
or Erik Nordberg at 906-487-2505 or e-mail to enordber@mtu.edu

One comment on “Spring 2010 Consortium Meeting, Ishpeming, Michigan”

  • Consortium Meeting He… | Michigan Tech Michigan Tech Archives Blog
    May 22, 2010 at 9:13 pm

    […] Northland Historical Consortium held its Spring 2010 meeting on Saturday, May 22, 2010, at the Cliffs Shaft Mine Museum in Ishpeming, […]

Leave a Reply

Your email address will not be published. Required fields are marked *