EET Student, Kurt Kalenauskas, is 2013 MABF Scholarship Recipient

LANSING, MICHIGAN – The Michigan Association of Broadcasters Foundation (MABF) is proud to announce the recipients of its 2013 MABF Scholarship Program. Recipients were identified by the faculty representatives from each school and ratified by the MAB Foundation Board of Directors. Scholarships were presented during the Great Lakes Broadcasting Conference and Expo on Wednesday, March 13 in Lansing. The following students were the recipients of the 2013 Scholarships:

MABF Endowment Scholarships

The Carl E. Lee Scholarship
Nicole Pascaretta
Western Michigan University

The Charles D. Fritz Scholarship
Philip Maciolek
Henry Ford Community College

& Marks Foundation Scholarship (2)
Cody Boyer
Northern Michigan University


Kurt Kalenauskas
Michigan Technological University

The Nancy Waters and Mark Waters Scholarship
Pamela Croydon
University of Michigan

The Charles D. Mefford Scholarship
Brooks Deihl, III
Specs Howard School of Media Arts

The Gary A. Reid Scholarship
Marites Woodbury
Michigan State University

The James H. Quello Scholarship
Colin Marshall
Michigan State University

The Leicinger/Biederman Scholarship
Kyle Pacynski
Michigan State University

The Dr. Peter Orlik Broadcast Scholarship (2)
Rodney Harris
Central Michigan University


Anna Swando
Central Michigan University

The Jerry P. Colvin Scholarship
Spencer Wheelock
Grand Valley State University

The Alan W. Frank Scholarship
Ashley Allison
Oakland University

MAB Foundation General Scholarships

Meghann Brozowski
Adrian College

Hannah Crouch
Ferris State University

Princess Gabbara
Eastern Michigan University

Eric Iden
Spring Arbor University

Kasidee Karsten
Hope College

Adorabelle Namigadde
Wayne State University

Joshua Pavlik
Delta College

Matthew Shepard
Lansing Community College

MABF Station Scholarship

WXYZ-TV Station Scholarship
Amyra Woods
Wayne State University

MABF High School Scholarships

Caleb Gordon
Marysville High School

Emoni Sholar
Edwin Denby High School

Frederick Smith
Southeastern High School

For more information about the MAB Foundations Scholarship Program or other MAB Foundation programs please visit our website at
Please Contact the MAB Foundation for official photos at


The Michigan Association of Broadcasters Foundation is a 501(C)(3) non-profit educational and research-oriented charitable organization under the Internal Revenue Service Code. The Foundation is involved with broadcast history preservation and industry advancement through education, research and promoting excellence. A major part of the Foundation is to promote the continuation of excellence through a diverse broadcasting work force. This is done by offering scholarships, internships and continuing education opportunities.

Construction Management Program Receives Accreditation

The American Council for Construction Education (ACCE) has accredited Michigan Tech’s Construction Management program in the School of Technology.

“The Construction Management program at Michigan Tech has maintained the stringent standards of ACCE and has proven to the board, through a visiting team of peers and industry practitioners, that the program is worthy of accreditation,” the accrediting body said in a news release announcing its action.

“Accreditation is an important component of building and maintaining a quality program in Construction Management, and it is always satisfying to have external validation of our work,” said School of Technology Dean Jim Frendewey. “It takes a great deal of time and effort to make this happen, from the faculty and staff of the School of Technology, and from others across the University. I am grateful for everyone’s support.”

Originally, the program was a two-plus-two curriculum, offering an Associate Degree in Civil Engineering Technology combined with courses from the School of Business and Economics and other selected classes. In 2005, the program in Construction Management was approved as a Bachelor of Science degree offering.

“Since then, we have been improving and adjusting the curriculum requirements to insure a quality, current education to prepare our graduates for a career in the construction industry,” said program chair John Daavettila. “We are very pleased that our program has met the high standards for accreditation by the American Council for Construction Education. This accreditation is important to our School because it verifies the quality of the program as judged by a national organization of professionals in academics and the construction industry.”

The ACCE was established in 1974 to be a leading global advocate of quality construction education and to promote, support and accredit quality construction education programs around the world.