Versions

A unique version of a page is saved through the automatic version control system every time a page is published. A backup version of a page can also be created manually with the use of the Save Version button.

All versions of the page are kept in the system until the page is deleted. There is no limit to the number of versions that are stored in the system for an individual page or across all pages in the site. If a file is moved to the Recycle Bin and then restored, versions will still be preserved.

Continue reading


Unpublish and Restore

To remove content from a live site, pages and files must be moved to the Recycle Bin. Pages that are moved to the Recycle Bin can be restored, if necessary. When a page is recycled the published content is automatically removed. Once a page is deleted from the Recycle Bin or a folder is deleted, it can no longer be retrieved.

If you are removing an entire folder, you should first recycle all content items within the folder then delete the folder itself. If you delete the folder it will delete all items within it and that content will not be able to be restored.

Continue reading


Expire

You can schedule a page to expire at a specific date and time. The available options depend on the file type and your access permissions. Expire options can be reached from the Pages List View by hovering over the item and selecting Expire under the Publish dropdown or from the dropdown arrow next to the green Publish button when you have the page open.

There are different options for expiring content, Replace or Recycle. For each option you have the ability to send a notification to yourself or a group of users. It will be sent with the CMS and you can select the Send Copy to Email checkbox to also send a notification to the user’s Michigan Tech email. You will select the To from the dropdown, enter a Subject, and enter a Message.

Continue reading


Schedule a Publish

You can publish content at a later date using the Scheduled Publish tool. A scheduled publish can only be canceled or modified by the user who set the schedule. Scheduled Publish can be reached from the Schedule Publish tab inside the Publish window, by selecting Schedule from the Publish menu in the Pages List View, or by selecting Schedule from the dropdown menu of the green Publish button in the Page Actions Toolbar.

Continue reading


Navigation

Navigation is controlled through the _nav.shtml files automatically created with a new section or additional .shtml files that are created manually. New pages are automatically added to the correct navigation files depending on your choice for “Add Navigation Item” when creating them. These files must be published in order for changes to appear on the live site.

The format of a nav file is a bullet list of navigation items for that section. If you are in the main root folder for a site, the _nav.shtml file will include the tab navigation links only, not any sub-navigation. If you are in the first folder beneath the root folder the _nav.shtml file there will have all the sub-navigation for the tab represented by that folder. Navigation on the live site can include one additional level beneath this subnavigation, however these links will not appear until the user goes to the parent subnavigation page. If you are in the most interior page’s folder the _nav.shtml file will only contain the page you are on.

Continue reading



Section’s Extra Left Sidebar Content

Each section will pave a _props.pcf file. On a section other than the homepage, you can edit the Section Title and Section Breadcrumb. The _props.pcf file for a homepage is where you can update the contact information in the footer for your site and add additional breadcrumbs preceding the ones for this site. Settings you choose in a _props.pcf file will carry through to all files and folders within that folder.

Content can be added below the left sidebar in several ways. If you only want it to be visible on a single page, use the Left Sidebar Content Editable Region on that page. To display content on multiple pages, the content will be added to a _props.pcf file. Remember, any settings made in a _props.pcf file will carry through to all files and folders within that folder. Add it to the file in the root folder to carry through to the whole site.

Continue reading


Additional Breadcrumbs

Each section will pave a _props.pcf file. On a section other than the homepage, you can edit the Section Title and Section Breadcrumb. The _props.pcf file for a homepage is where you can update the contact information in the footer for your site and add additional breadcrumbs preceding the ones for this site. Settings you choose in a _props.pcf file will carry through to all files and folders within that folder.

Additional breadcrumbs can be added preceding those for your site. This is commonly used on some general webpages, like the Faculty/Staff page including a breadcrumb to the Michigan Tech homepage or one of the CSA or COE departments including a breadcrumb back to the college homepage.

breadcrumbs-coe breadcrumbs-csa breadcrumbs-homepage

Continue reading


Log

The Properties button in the Page Actions Toolbar near the top of the page contains information about the page. You must have the page checked out to you to see all the options.

Whenever a page is saved or published, OU Campus keeps a record of the action. The page log feature displays all the saves and publishes, whether manual, scheduled, or part of a directory or site publish, that have occurred for a specific page.

Continue reading


Reminders

The Properties button in the Page Actions Toolbar near the top of the page contains information about the page. You must have the page checked out to you to see all the options.

There are two types of reminders available in the CMS that can be set for pages and files. You can set one reminder or both. They can be sent to a single user or a group, periodically or on a one-time basis, and to the user’s CMS Inbox only or also to their regular email. You can set reminders only for content you can access and only to yourself or to a group to which you belong. A reminder can be set even if the content is checked out to another user.

Reminders can be accessed from the left menu of the Properties screen or on the Pages list view.

Continue reading