Bioathlon 2009

Faculty, Grad Students Design Activities for High School Biology Competition
The 20th Annual Department of Biological Sciences Bioathlon for high school students will be held Wednesday, May 5, on campus. The Bioathlon is the department’s outreach program, which serves to stimulate interest and problem solving in biology among area youth. Sixty students from 15 Upper Peninsula high schools will participate in activities designed by Michigan Tech faculty members and graduate students of the department.

Each team will be comprised of four students, who will not have had formal course work in biology beyond the traditional sophomore-level high school general biology class. All teams will tackle the same four problems:

  • “Dissection,” designed by Associate Professor Ronald Gratz
  • “Windows to the Microscopic World: Freshwater Algae Unite!” designed by doctoral candidates Meagan Harless and Sarah Kiemle
  • “Field Identification,” designed by Associate Professor Robert Keen
  • “Fundamental Biological Principles,” designed by Professor of Practice Karyn Fay, Senior Lecturer Alice Soldan and graduate student Tara Waybrant

Students will be judged on organizational skills, knowledge of facts and concepts, laboratory skills and creativity.

Each member of the first-place team will receive a $200 US savings bond; the second-place team will receive a $100 US savings bond; and the third-place team will receive a $50 US savings bond. As well, a plaque will be awarded to each of the three teams. Every participant will receive a certificate of participation and a Bio-Athlon T-shirt.

Funding is provided by Michigan Tech Admissions, the Department of Biological Sciences, the Michigan Tech Fund and the following alumni: Mark Cowan, M.D.; Robert DellAngelo, M.D.; Olive Cornish Kimball, D.Ed., Ph.D.; and Sandra Lewin, of the Michigan Tech Fund.

The team winning FIRST PLACE was Hancock High School.
The team winning SECOND PLACE was Ironwood, LL Wright.
The team winning THIRD PLACE was AD Johnston, Bessemer.


High School Teacher/Coach
A.D. Johnston High School David Rowe
Baraga Area High School Benjamin Johnston
Calumet High School Jen Peters
Chassell High School Mary Markham
Dollar Bay High School Sara Moilanen
Forest Park High School Jen Toivonen
Hancock High School Kristin Schourek
Houghton High School Lauri Davis
Jeffers High School Cindy Ruotsi
Lake Linden-Hubbell High School Kelly Wiegand
Luther L. Wright High School Paul Mattson
Neguanee High School Todd Backlund
Superior Central High School Matthew Spreitzer
West Iron County High School Joel Van Lanen
Westwood High School Kevin Kruger

Comments Closed