Jared Cregg and Sherri Wiseman Win Awards in Ecosystem Science Center/Biotechnology Research Center Research Forum

Two Grand Awards, five Merit Awards and two Honorable Mention Awards were presented.

Receiving the Grand Award from the Biotech Research Center was Jared Cregg (Biomedical Engineering) for “Anisotropic Microfibrous Scaffolds for Nerve Regeneration Applications.”

BRC Merit Awards were given to Lindsey Tuominen (SFRES) for “Investigating the Relationship Between Phenolic Glycoside Levels and Expression of Laccase, Phenolic Acyltransferase, and Cytochrome P450 Gene Families in Populus”; Sherri Wiseman (Biomedical Engineering), “Development of Novel Sol-Gel Glasses that Facilitate Neural Adhesion and Neurite Extension In Vitro”; and Christine Zawaski (SFRES), “Regulation of Woody Plant Development by Genes Involved in GA Signal Transduction.”

The Ecosystem Science Center Grand Award was given to Joseph Bump (SFRES) for “Wolves Configure Landscape Heterogeneity through Prey Carcass Distribution.”

The ESC Merit Awards were given to Clara Antón-Fernández (SFRES),”Correcting for Sampling Error in Individual Tree Mortality Models” and Stacie Holmes (SFRES), “Death and Taxus: Survival and Growth of Canada Yew (Taxus canadensis) Cuttings Four Years Post-planting.” Honorable Mention Awards were given to Chris Miller (SFRES), “Wood to Wire from Forest Resources in the Upper Midwest,” and to Timothy Wilson (Biological Sciences), “Re-establishment of Lake Sturgeon in the Ontonagon River, Michigan, Using Streamside Rearing.”

They were selected from among the 30 posters and abstracts submitted by graduate students conducting research related to ecology, the environment and biotechnology at Michigan Tech.

Comments Closed