2011 School of Business and Economics Honors Banquet

The School of Business and Economics recently celebrated the end of another academic year with an honors banquet to recognize leaders and high-achievers. The event also hosted guest speaker President and CEO of Quincy Hill Advisors George Butvilas. A second congratulations goes out to all award and scholarship recipients. The complete list of honorees and photos from the event are below.

Students inducted into the Beta Gamma Sigma National Honor Society included: Meng Dai, Yingqi Gu, Tao Guo, Thomas Harri, Kali Jeter, Wei He, Stephanie Kantola, Carissa Miller, Caitlin Pionke, Wade Thelen, and faculty member Anne Warrington.

Rebekka Mikkola received the Beta Gamma Sigma National Scholarship.

Teddy Broe and Bryan Endres received the Richard C. Chandler Memorial Scholarship and the McNair Parker Endowed Scholarship awarded to undergraduate students majoring in economics.

Stephanie Behrens, Daniel Eskola, and Amanda Gimler received the Dewaine Olson Book Scholarship awarded to undergraduates majoring in finance or accounting.

Jane Lahti received the Dean Clyde T Hardwick Memorial Scholarship awarded to a junior majoring in business management.

Dawn Stronski received the Dorothy M. Johnson Memorial Accounting Scholarship, presented by Assistant Professor Joel Tuoriniemi.

Theresa Laubrick received the Michigan Association of CPA Scholarship presented by Senior Lecturer Anne Warrington. This scholarship is awarded to students who intend to sit for the Michigan CPA examination and practice public accounting.

Jeni Hammstrom received the Eino Reini Memorial Endowed Scholarship for an undergraduate student focused in accounting.

Michael Schott received the Kelly Ann Long Memorial Scholarship for a student who has demonstrated high academic achievement within the School.

Stephanie Behrens, Gregory Olson, Caitlin Pionke, Michael Schott, and Jacob Vehring all received the Ross Roeder Endowed Scholarship for students with demonstrated leadership and entrepreneurial skills.

Bret Kilpela received the Donald W. Seaton Memorial Scholarship prestented by Tim Seaton to a student demonstrating exceptional capabilities and leadership.

Timothy Fox and Megan Plis received the Marvin L. Isles Scholarship awarded to undergraduate students in our School.

Britney Estola and Kathryn Danielson recived the A. Marshall and Janis R. Forsberg Scholarship given to students focusing in industrial marketing and management.

Nicole Cholette and Jacob Vehring received the James and Dolores Trethewey Scholarship awarded to students who previously attended Luther L. Wright High School or Gogebic Community College.

Kathryn Danielson received the Joyce and Richard Ten Haken Scholarship that is awarded to freshmen who have demonstrated high academic achievement.

Jacob Carlson and Leanna VanSlooten received the Upper Peninsula Power Company Scholarship that recognizes students who were born in the Upper Peninsula.

Jonathan LaPlant and Rachael Zerbst received the Wells Fargo Bank Scholarship, presented by Ellie Freeman, that recognizes students who are residents in the local area.

Bret Kilpela and Rachael Zerbst received the Citizens Bank Scholarship, presented by Julie Jennerjohn, that recognizes students in the local area.

Caleb Maki received the Superior National Bank Scholarship which recognizes individuals from the local area.

Kathryn Wysocki was announced as the 2010 School of Business and Economics’ Woman of Promise. This honor recognizes a current female student who went above and beyond what was expected of them in terms of being a well-rounded student – one who has demonstrated academic achievement, campus and community leadership, good citizenship, and creativity.

Danielle Linna received the 2010 Departmental Scholar award recognizing a senior who has displayed excellent academic standards, levels of intellectual curiosity, creativity, and communication skills.

Gregory Olson was awarded the Tidwell Outstanding Man in Business and Rebekka Mikkola received the Tidwell Outstanding Women in Business awards. The award is intended to recognize and celebrate two students who have brought honor and pride to the School.

Comments Closed