Category: Faculty Spotlight

Roger Woods inducted into Puget Sound Hall of Fame

Roger Woods inducted into Logger Athletics Hall of Fame in 2013.

Five new members will be inducted into the University of Puget Sound Athletics Hall of Fame this fall, the Athletics Department proudly announced on Thursday. Craig Caskey (baseball), Dave Davis (cross country/track & field), Laura Grinstead (soccer), Erin Peterson (softball), and Roger Woods (swimming) will be enshrined as the Puget Sound Hall of Fame Class of 2013. Roger Woods is a Senior Lecturer in Operations Management in the School of Business and Economics at Michigan Tech.

The five new members will be inducted and celebrated the weekend of Sep. 13-14, 2013. An induction ceremony and dinner will take place on Sep. 13 and the class will be celebrated again during the Logger football game on Sep. 14. The Loggers are hosting Chapman University at 1 p.m. in their season-opener.

The Hall of Fame Class of 2013 is comprised entirely of former student-athletes. Caskey (’72) went on to pitch in the major leagues and still holds school records on the mound over 40 years after he threw his last pitch as a Logger. Peterson (’00) was an All-American catcher and still owns the home run record at Puget Sound. Grinstead (’01) was an All-American defender on the soccer pitch and led the Loggers to their first Northwest Conference title.

Davis (’00) and Woods (’94) both earned individual national titles for the Loggers in their respective sports. Woods was a three-time NAIA national champion in the pool while Davis won the NCAA Division III cross country title in 1999 and was a three-time All-American.

The five newest selections to the Hall of Fame span five different sports and represent all three eras of affiliation in Puget Sound Athletics history.

The University of Puget Sound Athletic Hall of Fame was founded in 1966 to honor extraordinary individuals in the rich history of Logger Athletics. From 1966-76, 25 members were inducted into the prestigious Hall of Fame.

From 1977-87, the Hall of Fame was dormant until then-Athletics Director Dr. Richard Ulrich revived the tradition. Since 1988, the Hall of Fame has inducted 76 new members for a total 101 student-athletes, coaches, administrators and contributors.

More information about the Hall of Fame celebration will be available later this summer

Roger Woods Named Teacher of the Year

Roger Woods accepted the 2013 Teacher of the Year Award from Dean Klippel.

Each year the student body within the School of Business and Economics elects one faculty member as Teacher of the Year. Roger Woods has been selected as the 2013 recipient of the coveted award.  When asked what this award means, the Lecturer in Operations Management said, “I am honored to be selected given the great faculty that we have in the School of Business and Economics. It has helped that I have had some great mentors and support of other faculty to improve my teaching.”

During his time at Michigan Tech, Woods has proven to be a great asset to the School of Business and Economics.  He first won the Teacher of the Year Award in 2011 and that same year was inducted into the Academy of Teaching Excellence as a finalist for the campus-wide teaching award.  He was nominated again the following year,  was selected as a finalist, and became the recipient of the Distinguished Teaching Award.

Roger Woods has been instrumental in the execution of the Business Development Experience over the past 3 years.  His duties included: developing the program structure, finding team projects, and teaching the second semester of the senior capstone experience.  Woods notes that “it has been rewarding to see how the students have matured and are able to apply the various School of Business and Economics classes to their projects.”

The task Woods is assigned to is not an easy one.  The student teams are all working on different projects which may pull them in different directions.  The Business Development Experience is intended to be a practical application of the skills they learn throughout their time at Michigan Tech.  We hope that the students can draw on these experiences during an interview for a job, but also that they look back on it as a rewarding hands-on experience.

Now that the Spring 2013 graduates have completed their time at Michigan Tech, Woods is looking forward to seeing a new class of students coming to campus this fall and hearing the success stories of all the recent graduates.

Oliveira Named Student Organization Advisor of the Year

Finace Club advisor, Emanuel Oliveira, names Student Organization Advisor of the Year.

Each year the Student Leadership Awards celebrate and reward the individual and group efforts of students involved in organizations across campus. There are awards for student employees, residence halls, and student organizations.

Congratulations to the following students, student organizations, and advisors for inspiring community, scholarship, possibilities, accountability and tenacity within Michigan Tech as well as our community.

Within the School of Business and Economics Senior Lecturer in Economics, Emanuel Oliveira, was selected at this year’s Student Organization Advisor of the Year. Emanuel participated and motivated the Finance Club organization’s membership and is respected by members of the organization. However, the greatest activities contributing to this award was the Finance Club’s FinanceU event last semester.

Yu Summer Gu, an MBA student, was also selected as an award recipient from the School of Business and Economics.  Summer was actively involved and enthusiastic in campus activities .  She was the driving force behind a greatly improved Chinese Night which had a larger attendance this year, almost tripling participation from any year prior.

Here are your 2013 Student Leadership Award recipients:

  • Melanie Hoffman, President’s Award for Leadership
  • Michael Adler, Provost Award for Scholarship
  • Claire Meneguzzo, Vice President’s Award for Service
  • Kevin Cassell, Exceptional Leadership in Student Governance
  • Yu Summer Gu, Exceptional Enthusiasm as a Student Leader
  • Jason Cattelino, Student Employee of the Year
  • Hannah Altscheffel, Rising Star of the Year
  • Caleb Vogt, Undergraduate Research Expo, Exceptional Program of the Year
  • Society of Women Engineers, Most Improved Student Organization
  • Leo Ureel II, Breaking Digital Barriers, Exceptional Community Service Project
  • Memorial Union Board, Student Organization of the Year
  • Emanuel Marcos R. Castro Oliveira, Student Organization Advisor of the Year

Tech Business Teams Take 2nd and 3rd in THE Project

Business and Economics students from Michigan Tech had another successful showing at THE Project, taking 2nd and 3rd places respectively.

Two Michigan Tech teams competed in the second West Michigan Project Management Institute THE Project 2013 competition. There were seven collegiate teams competing for $10,000 prizes, and both Michigan Tech teams made it to the Final Four.

Michigan Tech Team B placed 2nd overall and received $3,000, and Michigan Tech Team A placed 3rd overall and received $2,000. Team B consists of Danielle Boettger (Economics), Evan Beckner (Operations and Systems Management), August Skultety (Operations and Systems Management). Team A consists of Kira Eck (Marketing), Mitch Fedie (Management), Amanda Halonen (Operations and Systems Management), and Mandi Severn (Management). All students were enrolled in BUS4950 Advanced Project Management this semester.

Details about the competition are located at: