Month: April 2012

Board of control praises Tech’s direction

Among the notable accomplishments over the year was the designation as the No. 1 Peace Corps Masters International Program in the nation for the seventh consecutive year. Shari Stockero was promoted from assistant professor without tenure to associate professor with tenure. Paul Ward was promoted from associate professor without tenure to associate professor with tenure.

Baltensperger Recognized by MASB

The Houghton-Portage Township Schools Board of Education recognized Brad Baltensperger for winning the Michigan Association of School Board (MASB) President’s Award of Recognition. The Board Member Awards Program, with basic certification as its cornerstone, was developed in 1990 with input from both veteran Michigan school board members and representatives from higher education and state administrator organizations. Level 7 is the President’s Award of Recognition.

Cokely Receives Best Paper Award

Assistant Professor Edward Cokely (CLI) has received the Raymond S. Nickerson Best Paper Award, sponsored by the American Psychological Association Division 21 (Applied Experimental and Engineering Psychology). Cokely and a colleague’s paper, “Effective Communication of Risks to Young Adults: Using Message Framing and Visual Aids to Increase Condom Use and STD Screening,” appeared in the Journal of Experimental Psychology: Applied, Vol. 17, No. 3, 270–287 (2011).

Michigan Tech Remains the Nation’s Top Peace Corps Master’s International Graduate School

Michigan Tech ranks as the No. 1 Peace Corps Master’s International (PCMI) university nationwide for the seventh consecutive year. With 31 PCMI graduate students currently serving as Peace Corps volunteers, Michigan Tech has earned top spot in the 2012 rankings of Peace Corps’ Master’s International and Paul D. Coverdell Fellows graduate schools.

Reminder: K-12 Outreach and Diversity Can Strengthen Grant Proposals

Presenters will be Steve Patchin, director of Pre-College Outreach and Youth Programs; Joan Chadde, education coordinator for the Western UP Center for Science, Mathematics and Environmental Education and the Center for Science and Environmental Outreach; Shezwae Fleming, director for the Center for Diversity and Inclusion; and Jodi Lehman, coordinator for Proposal and Fellowship Development.