Michigan Technological University

Academy of Educators Induction Ceremony

Saturday, October 3, 2015

Memorial Union Building Alumni Lounge

Academy of Educators

The Academy of Educators, established in 2005, gives public recognition to alumni and alumnae who have brought distinction to themselves, Michigan Technological University and the Teacher Education program, through their participation, commitment, outstanding leadership, and/or public service in the field of education.

Honorary members are individuals who did not receive a degree or teaching certification from Michigan Tech, but who have contributed significantly to teacher education at the university or to the field of education generally.

Portraits and brief vitae of these distinguished academy members will be prominently displayed in the Department of Cognitive and Learning Sciences to serve as inspirational role models for Michigan Tech students.

Program

6:00 p.m. - Social

6:30 p.m. - Dinner

7:30 p.m. – Award Presentation

Bruce Seely, Dean, College of Sciences and Arts

Susan Amato-Henderson, Chair, Department of Cognitive and Learning Sciences

Shari Stockero, Director of Teacher Education, Department of Cognitive and Learning Sciences

2015 Academy Inductees

Dennis P. Harbour

Darrell R. Hendrickson

Charles G. Schepke

Dennis P. Harbour

Master's in School Administration, '77 Bachelor of Science, Business Education, '74

Superintendent of Schools (retired) Copper Country Intermediate School District

As a Copper Country native, born and raised in Hubbell, Dennis attended the Dollar Bay Schools, graduating in 1970. Dennis received an Associate Degree in Business from Suomi College in 1972. He then attended Northern Michigan University where he earned a Bachelor of Science in Business Education in 1974 and a Master's in School Administration in 1977. Dennis began his career as a business teacher for the Pembine Beecher Dunbar Schools and in 1977 returned to the Copper Country to serve as K-12 principal and teacher for the Chassell Township Schools. In 1981, he joined the Houghton Portage Township Schools as their high school principal and later served as their superintendent for 19 years. Dennis concluded his career as superintendent of schools for the Copper Country Intermediate School District, retiring in 2014.

Dennis has served as President of the Michigan Association of School Administrators, the U.P. Region 1 Superintendent's Organization, and the School Employees Insurance (SET/SEG) Company Board of Directors. He has served as a member of the Michigan Tech President's Advisory Committee and the Executive Board and Council of the Michigan Association of School Administrators. Dennis is the recipient of the Michigan Association of School Administrators Award, the Copper Country United Way Campaign Leadership Award, the Suomi College Alumni Award of Distinction, and the Portage Lake Golf Course Verdie Cox Sportsmanship Award.

Darrell R. Hendrickson

Bachelor of Science, Forestry, '77 Secondary Teacher Certification, '01

7th Grade Teacher Washington Middle School Public Schools of Calumet-Laurium-Keweenaw

Darrell received his Bachelor of Science in Forestry from Michigan Tech in 1977, with special emphasis on wildlife management. After working for the National Park Service at Isle Royale National Park, driving bus, and coaching basketball for the Lake Linden-Hubbell Schools, Darrell enrolled in the Secondary Teaching Certification program at Michigan Tech, receiving his teaching certification with a major in Biology and minor in General Science in 2001.

Darrell joined the Washington Middle School in 2001 as a 7th grade science teacher. Darrell started stewardship projects at the Calumet Township Park in 2003, helping to resurrect a school forest. He has added place based environmental learning and stewardship projects to enrich the science curriculum in the Calumet Public Schools, incorporating annual projects like Adopt-a-Beach and Invasive Species Removal. He also started middle and high school Science Olympiad programs, with teams winning regional competition awards. Darrell has been recognized for his service to public education and contributions to promoting research in science by the Sigma Xi Research Society at Northern Michigan University and the Michigan Alliance of Environmental and Outdoor Education. In 2012, he was recognized as the Calumet Public Schools Outstanding Education Employee by the Copper Country Association of School Boards. The Calumet VFW Post and its Ladies Auxiliary and the Chassell VFW District selected him as Teacher of the Year in 2013.

Charles G. Schepke

Master of Science, Applied Science Education, '05 Bachelor of Arts, Biology, '87 Secondary Teaching Certification, '94

5th – 8th Grade Teacher Roscommon Middle/High School

Charles received his Bachelor of Arts in Biology and a minor in Chemistry with concentration in environmental studies from Oakland University in 1987. In 1994, he earned his Secondary Teaching Certification from Wayne State University. He went on to earn a Master of Science in Applied Science Education in 2005 from Michigan Tech.

Charles began his teaching career in 1994 at the Houghton Lake Middle School as an 8th grade science and technical education teacher. During his tenure, he conducted a two year water quality field study on the headwaters of the Muskegon River. In 1996, he joined the Grayling High School where he taught biology, environmental science, general science, geology, and applied physics. Charles earned the Crawford Ausable School District Special Educator Award for Development of Applied Science Programming in 2001 and the Outstanding Educator Award in 1999. He was also awarded the Michigan Association of School Boards (MASB) Educational Excellence Award for Principles of Technology, an applied physics course he developed at Grayling High School. In 2002, Charles joined Roscommon Middle/High School and is currently serving as a 5th – 8th grade teacher. In 2013, he was named the Michigan Earth Science Teachers Association (MESTA) Earth Science Teacher of the Year for the State of Michigan. Charles has held a board position with MESTA for the last 16 years and has done extensive outreach to the state K-12 teaching community.

Academy Members:

Carrie Ammons Maryann Boddy Joan Schumaker Chadde John Christianson James Frantti Mandy Frantti Calvin R. Gale, Honorary **Kyle Hughes** Timothy Keteri **Douglas Leisenring** James Luoma Mary Markham **Douglas Oppliger** Shawn Oppliger Kristin Schourek Megan Schrauben Matthew Zimmer

