Archives—August 2008

Faculty Awarded Grants

Jeffrey Allen, (CoPI, ME-EM), “Center for Fundamental and Applied Research in Nanostructured and Lightweight Materials”, sponsor: National Science Foundation, total award amount: $1,544,553

Jeffrey Allen, (CoPI, ME-EM); Jeffery Naber, (CoPI, ME-EM); “Hydrogen Education Curriculum Path at Michigan Technological University”; sponsor: U.S. Department of Energy; total award amount: $482,244.

Jason Blough, (PI, ME-EM); Jeffery Naber (CoPI, ME-EM), “Combustion Pressure Engine Testbed Setup”, sponsor: PCB Piezotronics, total award amount: $36,347.

Continue reading

MuSTI: Multi-Scale Technologies Institute

MuSTI at Michigan Tech promotes interdisciplinary research and the implementation of nanotechnologies and microtechnologies into deployable systems. Ten departments and colleges on campus are involved in this initiative. Participating Physics faculty include Dr. John A. Jaszczak, Dr. Miguel Levy, Dr. Ravi Pandey, Dr. Ranjit Pati, and Dr. Yoke Khin Yap. The institute is directed by Dr. Craig Friedrich, a Professor in the Mechanical Engineering-Engineering Mechanics Department. Some recent Physics/MuSTI proposals include:

Associate Professor Yoke Khin Yap (Physics/MuSTI), Assistant Professor Henry A. Sodano and Assistant Professor Greg Odegard (MEEM/MuSTI), “Functionalized Carbon Nanotube Arrays for Aerodynamic Sensing,” DoD-Missile Defense Agency

Professor Ravindra Pandey and Visiting Assistant Professor Ralph Scheicher (Physics/MuSTI), “Comprehensive First-Principles Study of Novel Bio-Nano Sensor Technology Based on DNA-Wrapped Carbon Nanotubes,” NSF-NER

Professor Miguel Levy (Physics/MSE/MuSTI), “Materials World Network: Nonlinear Magnetophotonic Crystals,” NSF