Month: June 2010

Michigan Tech SPS Chapter Receive Blake Lilly Prize

The Michigan Tech chapter of the Society of Physics Students (SPS) has been selected as a 2010 Blake Lilly winner. The submission of the chapter’s outreach program was very impressive to the Blake Lilly Prize Committee. The chapter will receive the three-volume set of the Feynman Lectures on Physics and a certificate. The Michigan Tech chapter will be listed in the SPS Observer and on the SPS national website as a Blake Lilly winner. The organization was congratulated by past SPS president and physics alum Carly Robinson. She was president during 2005-2007 when the Family Physics Night outreach program was initiated by the SPS officers, Dr. Cantrell, Mike Meyers, and Joan Chadde. 2010 Blake Lilly Prize Recipients

Jaszczak Nominated Michigan Distinguished Professor of the Year

Professor of Physics John A. Jaszczak was nominated by Michigan Tech’s Provost for theFourth Annual Michigan Distinguished Professor of the Year Recognition, sponsored by chief academic affairs officers of the 15 public universities in Michigan. The Michigan Distinguished Professor of the Year recognition program recognizes outstanding faculty contributions to undergraduate instruction.

Provost Max Seel cited Dr. Jaszczak’s work with establishing educational components fornanotechnology, especially the NSF funded work establishing Nanotech Innovations Enterprise; his work as an academic advisor for physics majors, especially in recruiting and mentoring students interested in becoming physics teachers; and helping to develop, implement and share physics-education-research-based reforms in introductory physics courses.

View the Tech Today article

Dr. Jaszczak accepts the nomination from Mike Boulus and Patricia Farrell of the Presidents Council State Universities of Michigan.
The award ceremony was held on May 13, 2010, at the Radisson Hotel Lansing.