Tag Archives: Awards

Award for the Society of Physics Students

The Michigan Tech chapter of the Society of Physics Students (SPS) has been selected as one of the 2010 Outstanding SPS Chapters. This is the first time in decades the local chapter has earned such a distinction from the Zone Councilors and Associate Zone Councilors.

This chapter is part of Zone 09, which includes Illinois, Indiana, Upper Michigan, and Wisconsin. Award selection criteria include involvement with national meetings, outreach effort, community service, interaction with alumni, student recruitment, and more. See Also “Notables

Student Awarded at 2010 MRS Fall Meeting

Physics graduate student Abhishek Prasad has won an award in the 2010 Materials Research Society Fall Meeting. Prasad was one of the 50 finalists in the Science as Art competition in the meeting. His entry, entitled “Stem of nanoflowers,” was artificially composed of multiple scanning electron microscopy (SEM) images of zinc oxide (ZnO) nanostructures. Voting from the participants was carried out on-site at the meeting. Prasad won first place in the competition. Stem of NanoflowersThe MRS meeting was held in Boston from November 28 to December 03, with nearly 6000 registered participants. Prasad presented a paper entitled “(CdSe) ZnS Core Shell Quantum Dots Decorated Zinc Oxide Nanowires for Solar Energy Harvesting Applications” in Symposium W: Nanowires—Growth and Device Assembly for Novel Applications. Prasad is a senior graduate student in Professor Yoke Khin Yap’s research group.

Fall 2010 Finishing Fellowship Recipients

Physics graduate students Chee Huei Lee and Jiang Lu will receive Finishing Awards from the Michigan Tech Graduate School. The awards are made possible by the support of several Michigan Tech Fund endowments. Lee is part of Dr. Yoke Khin Yap’s research group. Lu works with Dr. Raymond Shaw. The fellowships are made possible by the Charles L. Lawton Endowed Fellowship, Neil V. Hakala Endowed Fellowship, Doctoral Finishing Fellowship and the Graduate School.

DOE Graduate Fellowship

Colin Gurganus, a PhD student in atmospheric science is among the 150 graduate fellows nationwide selected by the US Department of Energy Office of Science from among 3,300 applicants. He will receive $50,500 per year for up to three years to support tuition, living expenses, research materials and travel to conferences or to DOE scientific facilities.Gurganus is studying cloud microphysics with his advisor, Physics Professor Raymond Shaw. He aims to better understand the mechanisms that govern the processes inside clouds.

View the Michigan Tech News article

Kantamneni Offered Mensa Membership

Physics graduate student Abhilash Kantamneni has been offered membership in the prestigious Mensa International after clearing their qualification exam. Membership of Mensa is open to persons who have attained a score within the upper two percent of the general population on an approved intelligence test that has been properly administered and supervised.

Michigan Tech SPS Chapter Receive Blake Lilly Prize

The Michigan Tech chapter of the Society of Physics Students (SPS) has been selected as a 2010 Blake Lilly winner. The submission of the chapter’s outreach program was very impressive to the Blake Lilly Prize Committee. The chapter will receive the three-volume set of the Feynman Lectures on Physics and a certificate. The Michigan Tech chapter will be listed in the SPS Observer and on the SPS national website as a Blake Lilly winner. The organization was congratulated by past SPS president and physics alum Carly Robinson. She was president during 2005-2007 when the Family Physics Night outreach program was initiated by the SPS officers, Dr. Cantrell, Mike Meyers, and Joan Chadde. 2010 Blake Lilly Prize Recipients

Jaszczak Nominated Michigan Distinguished Professor of the Year

Professor of Physics John A. Jaszczak was nominated by Michigan Tech’s Provost for theFourth Annual Michigan Distinguished Professor of the Year Recognition, sponsored by chief academic affairs officers of the 15 public universities in Michigan. The Michigan Distinguished Professor of the Year recognition program recognizes outstanding faculty contributions to undergraduate instruction.

Provost Max Seel cited Dr. Jaszczak’s work with establishing educational components fornanotechnology, especially the NSF funded work establishing Nanotech Innovations Enterprise; his work as an academic advisor for physics majors, especially in recruiting and mentoring students interested in becoming physics teachers; and helping to develop, implement and share physics-education-research-based reforms in introductory physics courses.

View the Tech Today article

Dr. Jaszczak accepts the nomination from Mike Boulus and Patricia Farrell of the Presidents Council State Universities of Michigan.
The award ceremony was held on May 13, 2010, at the Radisson Hotel Lansing.