Distinguished Teaching Award Finalists Announced

by William G. Jackson CTL

The William G. Jackson Center for Teaching and Learning seeks input for its annual Distinguished Teaching Awards, which recognize outstanding contribution to the instructional mission of the University.

Based on more than 50,000 student rating of instruction responses, ten finalists have been identified for the 2015 awards. The selection committee is soliciting comments from students, staff, faculty and alumni to aid in its deliberation process.

The finalists for the two awards include:

Associate Professor/Professor
Associate Professor William Breffle (SBE)
Professor Mary Carol Friedrich (VPA)
Associate Professor William Kennedy (CLS)
Professor Gregory Odegard (ME–EM)
Professor Gordon Parker (ME–EM)

Assistant Professor/Lecturer/Professor of Practice
Lecturer Todd Arney (SoT)
Assistant Professor Joseph Bump (SFRES)
Assistant Professor Tarun Dam (Chem)
Lecturer Danny Miller (SoT)
Senior Lecturer Elizabeth Reed (Math)

Comments on the nominees are due by Friday, April 3, and can be completed online.

The process for determining the Distinguished Teaching Award recipients from this list of finalists also involves the additional surveying of their classes. The selection committee makes the final determination of the award recipients. The recipients of the 2015 Distinguished Teaching Award will be formally announced in May 2015.