P.E.O International Grants and Loans for Women Students

Deadline: rolling

Award Amount: Variable

The P.E.O. International Houghton Chapter has several grants and loans available for women students at Michigan Tech. Please visit their web site here  and contact Susan Beck at peopceelf@chartermi.net for more details and application instructions.

P.E.O. was founded in 1869 by seven students at Iowa Wesleyan College in Mount Pleasant, Iowa. Today, P.E.O. has grown to nearly a quarter of a million members in chapters throughout the U.S. and Canada, with headquarters in Des Moines, Iowa. Their focus is to help women to achieve education.

HEA Scholarship

Deadline: April 30, 2015

Award amount: $500

Former Hancock Central High School students who are juniors or seniors in the education program at their university are eligible. Applications are available at www.hancock.k12.mi.us. Click on the high school tab and scroll down to “HEA Scholarship.”

Scholarships should be mailed to Mrs. Deb Olson, Hancock Education Association, Barkell Elementary School, 1201 Elevation Street, Hancock, MI 49930, ATTN: HEA Scholarship.

WTS Transportation YOU High School Scholarship

Deadline: April 3, 2015

Award Amount: $500

The WTS Michigan Chapter will be awarding four (4) $500 – Transportation YOU High School Scholarships. The minimum criteria for selection are:

a. Applicant must be a female high school senior.

b. GPA of 3.0 or higher.

c. Currently studying math, science, and technology

d. Considering a career in a transportation-related field.

The application is available for download at: http://www.wtsinternational.org/michigan//documents/

CoutherPath Scholarship Program

Deadline: May 15

Award Amount: $1,000

CounterPath offers a scholarship to the support the next generation of innovators; the applicant who best persuades them they are most fit to be a leader in the unified communications industry will receive the award.

For more details, please see:



Keweenaw Business and Professional Woman (KBPW) Scholarship

Deadline: March 20, 2015

Award amount: $250 to $500

In support of a focus on education and advocacy for women of all ages, ethnicity, and beliefs, KBPW is looking to award a scholarship to a woman returning to school to further her education.  The scholarship is named in memorial for long time KBPW member, Diadama Mason.  Diadama was a local school teacher and supporter of women’s issues. The applicant must be female, attending school at least part-time, and a graduate of high school for at least one year prior to attending post-secondary education.  The attending school, college, or university must be local.  Please do not apply if you do not meet the scholarship criteria.

Applications can be found here: 2015 KBPW scholarship application

If you are awarded a Diadama Mason Scholarship, KBPW invites you to be a guest at our monthly meeting to be held on March 31st at 6:30 to accept the award.  This is an opportunity for award recipients to meet and thank the members for the scholarship.

Future of Assisted Living Scholarship

Deadline: December 31, 2015

Award Amount: $2,000

Each eligible students must submit a 500-750 word essay response to the question: “How can your major of study improve the lives of seniors in assisted living facilities in your town?”

Essay topics and scholarship details can be found on the SeniorAdvisor.com Assisted Living page.

SuretyBonds.com Small Business Success Student Scholarship Program

Deadline: March 31, 2015

Award Amount: $1,500

SuretyBonds.com understands the value of small businesses add not only to our economy but also to the communities we live and work in. So, to show their appreciation, they’re paying it forward by establishing a nationwide scholarship program to reward students  who have personal experience with small business. Three deserving individuals will win a $1,500 scholarship to use toward furthering  their education at the college or university of their choice. Each student must submit a 500- 1,000 word essay about “How small business ownership has shaped you in the person you are today.”

Visit their website: https://www.suretybonds.com/scholarships for more information.

Online Masters Programs Scholarships

Deadline and award amounts vary.

The OnlineMastersProgram.org web project includes a frequently updated database of 2,500+ scholarships for students, which can be found at: http://www.onlinemastersprograms.org/financial-aid/scholarships/.

The site also offers a four-part guide to paying for graduate school that covers the importance of accreditation for obtaining financial aid, convincing employers to pay for graduate school, and notable federal and private financial aid programs.

Newman, Anzalone & Newman General Education Scholarship 2015

Deadline: July 15, 2015

Award Amount: $500

Newman, Anzalone and Newman will be awarding a scholarship to a 2014-2015 high school graduate. Their law firm is honored to help incoming college students with this scholarship and is proud to help students reach their college goals.  To apply visit http://www.nyaccidentcase.com/scholarship.shtml. This website provides the applications and three essay topics from which to choose.