Category: Students

Michigan Tech Students Win National Mining Competition

The National Mining Competition announced the three winners from the 2013 event. First place Michigan Tech, second place University of British Columbia, and third place Edwards School of Business.

The winning Michigan Tech Mining team, “the fabulous four,” was Cora Hemmila, Matthew Younger, Matthew Schuman and Matthew Schwalen. The team advisor is James Murray Gillis, Instructor, Geological and Mining Engineering and Sciences, Director, Mine Safety and Health Training Program.

CEE Awards for 2013

Congratulations to the following students and faculty for award recognition:

Howard E. Hill Outstanding CEE Faculty of the Year Award – Dr. Tess Ahlborn was awarded the 2013 Howard E. Hill award for Outstanding Faculty of the Year by the students of the Civil and Environmental Engineering Department. Dr. Ahlborn teaches classes in the area of structural engineering. Congratulation Tess!

Graduate Teaching Award – This award is made annually to a graduate student in civil or environmental engineering to recognize excellence in laboratory instruction. This award is voted upon by the CEE undergraduate students.

Puff the Magic Sledder: Env. Eng. PhD Student Races Snowmobiles Professionally

Michigan Technological University environmental engineering PhD candidate Jennifer Fuller grew up dabbling in snowmobiling in her native Saginaw, where they have just a few inches of snowfall per year. So when she got to Houghton and Michigan Tech, she was hooked.

“I started with a local hill climb, found the Sledheads student organization and eventually moved on to the Midwest pro circuit,” she says.


Michigan Tech at (AREMA) annual conference

Rail Transportation Program (RTP) Director Pasi Lautala (CEE), Assistant Professor Jeffrey Lidicker (CEE) and 20 Rail Engineering and Activities Club (REAC) students attended the American Railway Engineering and Maintenance Right-of-Way (AREMA) annual conference in Chicago recently. Michigan Tech RTP students were recognized for their AREMA scholarship success. Two of the students, Matt Purves (CEE) and Colin Lay (CEE) were selected to serve as student interns for the Conference Operating Committee.