Category: Awards

Bioathlon 2009

Faculty, Grad Students Design Activities for High School Biology Competition
The 20th Annual Department of Biological Sciences Bioathlon for high school students will be held Wednesday, May 5, on campus. The Bioathlon is the department’s outreach program, which serves to stimulate interest and problem solving in biology among area youth. Sixty students from 15 Upper Peninsula high schools will participate in activities designed by Michigan Tech faculty members and graduate students of the department.

Each team will be comprised of four students, who will not have had formal course work in biology beyond the traditional sophomore-level high school general biology class. All teams will tackle the same four problems:

  • “Dissection,” designed by Associate Professor Ronald Gratz
  • “Windows to the Microscopic World: Freshwater Algae Unite!” designed by doctoral candidates Meagan Harless and Sarah Kiemle
  • “Field Identification,” designed by Associate Professor Robert Keen
  • “Fundamental Biological Principles,” designed by Professor of Practice Karyn Fay, Senior Lecturer Alice Soldan and graduate student Tara Waybrant

Bio Sci Students win 1st and 2nd Places

Nari Kang, a Bioinformatics student, won the 1st Place – Project Award in the Michigan Tech University-wide Undergraduate Research Expo. Her project was titled “Natural Food Preservation Using Oak Leaves” Her advisor is Dr. Ramakrishna Wusirika, Plant Biochemistry and Genetics.

The 2nd Place winner was Nicole Lepinski. Her project was “Characterizing Lapine Meniscal Tissue: A Regional Comparison Between Medial and Lateral Menisci” Her advisor is Dr. Tammy Haut Donahue, Mechanical Engineering-Engineering Mechanics.

2009 Undergraduate Expo

John Mark Gubatan Named Goldwater Scholar

The Department of Biological Sciences wishes to congratulate John Mark Gubatan (Biochemistry and Molecular Biology with a double minor in French and Spanish) for being name one of three Michigan Technological University students as a Goldwater Scholar

Goldwater scholarships–established by Congress to honor the late Senator Barry M. Goldwater–are based on academic merit, research experience and an intent to pursue a career in science, engineering or mathematics. Colleges and universities nominate students for the scholarships, which cover up to $7,500 in tuition and fees.

Students named to the 2009 National Ski Coaches Association National All-Academic Ski Team

The Department of Biological Sciences wishes to congratulate five student-athletes in Biological Sciences and Exercise Sciences, along with nine other students named to the 2009 National Ski Coaches Association National All-Academic Ski Team.

To be eligible, skiers had to have a 3.5 GPA for the fall semester and have participated in the NCAA Central Regional Skiing Championships.

The Biological and Exercise Science students are:

  1. Melanie Hoffman, 4.0, Exercise science
  2. Jenna Klein, 4.0, Biological Sciences/Exercise Science
  3. Nicole Lepinski, 4.0, Biological Sciences
  4. Christina Mishica, 3.7, Exercise Science
  5. Jaclyn Pribyl, 3.89, Biological Sciences

“This is a great honor for these student-athletes,” said head coach Joe Haggenmiller. “They work hard both in the classroom and in competition, and this award recognizes their hard work.”

Bioathlon 2008

Contact phone number: Jeff Lewin, 906.487.3435

The nineteenth annual Department of Biological Sciences Bioathlon for high school biology students was held on Wednesday, May 7, at Michigan Technological University. Simultaneously, a workshop was held for the accompanying biology teachers. The Bioathlon serves as a means to stimulate interest and problem-solving in biology among our area youth. Teams from 17 Upper Peninsula Michigan high schools participated.

The team winning FIRST PLACE was A.D. Johnston High School, Bessemer.
Coach: David Rowe

The team winning SECOND PLACE was L.L. Wright High School, Ironwood.
Coach: Paul Mattson

The team winning THIRD PLACE was Negaunee High School, Negaunee.
Coach: Sherri Holmgren