Keynote Talk: Data Science Expert Philip Bourne, April 5

Dr. Philip Bourne

Data Science expert Philip E. Bourne, Ph.D., FACMI, University of Virginia, will present a keynote lecture as part of the Computing[MTU] Showcase, April 4-6, 2022. Dr. Bourne’s lecture will take place Tuesday, April 5, 2022, at 12:30 p.m., in the Memorial Union, Ballroom A.

The Computing[MTU] Showcase will present a selection of faculty and student research in the Rozsa Center for the Performing Arts and the Memorial Union Ballrooms. The event is presented by the Institute of Computing and Cybersystems and the College of Computing. All events are free of charge.

Philip Bourne is the Stephenson Founding Dean of the School of Data Science, Professor of Data Science Biomedical Engineering at the University of Virginia, USA. Prior, he was the Associate Director for Data Science (ADDS; aka Chief Data Scientist) for the US National Institutes of Health (NIH) and a Senior Investigator at the National Center for Biotechnology Information (NCBI).

His current research focuses on data science methods applied to systems pharmacology structural bioinformatics and scholarly communication. He has a strong interest in helping the next generation through the Ten Simple Rules series of professional development articles and his work as Dean of one of the few data science schools worldwide where new models of higher education are being emphasized.

In his role as ADDS he led the trans NIH US $110M per year Big Data to Knowledge (BD2K) research initiative and contributed to data policies and infrastructure aimed at accelerating biomedical discovery. Examples include: establishing the NIH Commons, support for data and software citation and establishing preprints as a supported form of research.

Prior to joining NIH, Dr. Bourne was Associate Vice Chancellor for Innovation and Industry Alliances in the Office of Research Affairs and a Professor in the School of Pharmacy and Pharmaceutical Sciences at the University of California San Diego (UCSD). Dr. Bourne is a Past President of the International Society for Computational Biology, an elected fellow of the American Association for the Advancement of Science (AAAS), the International Society for Computational Biology (ISCB), the American Medical Informatics Association (AMIA) and the American Institute for Medical and Biological Engineering (AIMBE). He has published over 350 papers and 5 books garnering over 60,000 citations and co-founded 4 companies. Awards include the Jim Gray Award eScience Award and the Benjamin Franklin Award.