Comments for Distinguished Teaching Award Finalists Sought

The William G. Jackson Center for Teaching and Learning (CTL) reminds you that comments for the 2023 Distinguished Teaching Award finalists, which recognize outstanding contributions to Michigan Tech’s instructional mission, will be accepted until March 31 via online submission. Based on more than 40,000 student ratings of instruction responses, 10 finalists have been identified for the 2023 awards. The selection committee will reference comments from students, staff, faculty and alumni during their deliberations.

Assistant Professor/Teaching Professor/Professor of Practice Finalists:

  • Thomas Adolphs (HU), Assistant Teaching Professor
  • Claire Danielson (BioSci), Assistant Teaching Professor
  • Kyle Griffin (ChE), Assistant Teaching Professor
  • Mickey Jarvi (CFRES) , Assistant Teaching Professor
  • Robert Larson (BioSci), Assistant Professor

Associate Professor/Professor Finalists:

  • Yu Cai (AC), Professor
  • Chad Deering (GMES), Associate Professor
  • Guy Hembroff (AC), Associate Professor
  • Amy Marcarelli (BioSci), Professor
  • Joel Neves (VPA), Professor

The process for determining the Distinguished Teaching Award recipients from this list of finalists also involves the additional surveying of their spring 2023 classes. The selection committee makes the final determination of the award recipients. The 2023 Distinguished Teaching Awards will be formally announced in May.

For more information, contact the CTL at or 906-487-3000.