College of Computing Students Receive Student Leadership Awards

Mitchell Kelly (L) and Alexia Pringle

College of Computing undergraduates Mitchell Kelly, BS in Computer Science, and Alexia Pringle, BS in Cybersecurity, and are among the recipients of a President’s Volunteer Service Award, awarded annually by Student Leadership and Involvement. The third recipient of the award is undergraduate Ellen DeMeester, BS in Chemical Engineering.

Throughout the year, Mitchell Kelly is actively engaged in numerous campus events, dedicating much of his free time to volunteering. His contributions include assisting with tickets during hockey games, supporting the Career Fair, and volunteering at Winter Carnival and K-Day. He also spends several hours each week coaching in the Makerspace. Kelly has also been involved in sled hockey and adaptive track and field clinics. He recently obtained his EMT license and will be volunteering with Michigan Tech EMS in the near future.

The Student Leadership Awards were awarded to outstanding students, staff and alumni on Friday, April 12, 2024, during Michigan Tech’s 30th Annual Student Leadership Awards Ceremony.

Congratulations to all of the 2024 winners:

  • President’s Award for Leadership: Marielle Raasio
  • Provost’s Award for Scholarship: Abraham Stone
  • Dean of Students Award for Possibilities: Madison Mattila
  • Josephine and William Balconi Community Service Award: Micaela Geborkoff
  • Exceptional Enthusiasm as Student Leader Award: Skyler Brawley
  • Exceptional Leadership in Student Governance Award: Isobel Bowker
  • Student Employee of the Year: Halle Hill
  • Rising Star of the Year: Lily Ketelsen
  • Outstanding Future Alumni: Joe Dlugos
  • Claire M. Donovan Award: Emily Ruf
  • Percy Julian Award: Jaylen Body and Kieran Rowan
  • Award for Bravery and Kindness in Service to Others: Kaleb Schroeder, Maggie Guinther, Elam Maurer, Boyd Evans, Tristan Walk, Grant Helgestad, Jacob Schang
  • President’s Volunteer Service Award: Mitchell Kelly, Alexia Pringle, Ellen DeMeester
  • Exceptional Program of the Year: Outreach Program with the Girl Scouts of WI and the U.P., presented by Society of Women Engineers
  • Student Organization Advisor of the Year: Junhong Min
  • Exceptional Civic Engagement Award: Interfraternity Council
  • Most Improved Student Organization: Huskies Curl
  • Student Organization of the Year: Tau Kappa Epsilon

The even’ts keynote speaker was Kimberly D’Augustino ’15 (BS Biological Sciences/Materials Science and Engineering).

More information about the awards and the recipients can be found on the Student Leadership Awards page. Congratulations to all winners and nominees!