Distinguished Teaching Award Finalists Include Yu Cai and Guy Hembroff

by Jackson Center for Teaching and Learning

The William G. Jackson Center for Teaching and Learning (CTL) is seeking input for its annual Distinguished Teaching Awards, which recognize outstanding contributions to Michigan Tech’s instructional mission. Based on more than 40,000 student ratings of instruction responses, 10 finalists have been identified for the 2023 awards. The selection committee is soliciting comments from students, staff, faculty and alumni to be referenced during their deliberations.

Assistant Professor/Teaching Professor/Professor of Practice finalists:

  • Thomas Adolphs (HU), assistant teaching professor
  • Claire Danielson (BioSci), assistant teaching professor
  • Kyle Griffin (ChE), assistant teaching professor
  • Mickey Jarvi (CFRES), assistant teaching professor
  • Robert Larson (BioSci), assistant professor

Associate Professor/Professor finalists:

  • Yu Cai (AC), professor
  • Chad Deering (GMES), associate professor
  • Guy Hembroff (AC), associate professor
  • Amy Marcarelli (BioSci), professor
  • Joel Neves (VPA), professor

Comments for the finalists are due by March 31 and can be submitted online. The process for determining the Distinguished Teaching Award recipients from this list of finalists also involves the additional surveying of their spring 2023 classes. The selection committee makes the final determination of the award recipients. The 2023 Distinguished Teaching Awards will be formally announced in May.

For more information, contact the CTL at ctl@mtu.edu or 906-487-3000.