Category: News

Larry Sutter is a Faculty Fellow

Larry Sutter
Larry Sutter

Vice President for Research Announces Faculty Fellows Selections

The Office of the Vice President for Research has selected the 2014 recipients of the newly implemented Faculty Fellow Program. The first Faculty Fellows for 2014-2015 are: Larry Sutter (MSE), for Sponsored Program Administration, Adrienne Minerick (ChE) for Strategic Planning and Budget, and Yoke Khin Yap (Physics) for Economic Development and Technology Commercialization.

From Tech Today.

A Faculty Fellow in Sponsored Programs will be involved in areas such as pre- and post-award processing and administration.

MSE Grads Receive Travel Grants

Graduate Student Government Travel Grant Award Winners for Spring 2014

Travel grants for spring 2014 have been awarded. Among the Presenting Travel Grants ($ 250) recipients are materials science and engineering graduate students Karl Warsinski and Patrick Bowen.

The full list of graduate recipients can be accessed online.

Travel grants are awards that help subsidize cost of attending and presenting at conferences. These awards are sponsored by the Graduate Student Government (GSG) and the Graduate School. For more information on travel grants, please visit the webpage.

Should you have any questions, contact the GSG treasurer Jennifer Winikus (

From Tech Today.

Education Night 2014 Photo Gallery

MSE students and faculty member Dr. Paul Sanders attended the 2014 Education Night organized by the Detroit-Windsor chapter of AFS, the American Foundry Society. Three out of the four scholarships presented that night were awarded to MSE students Karl Warsinski, Helen Ranck, and Melissa Wright. The event was held in Troy, MI, on February 20, 2014.

View the PHOTO GALLERY in the Facebook page of Michigan Tech Materials Science and Engineering.

Helen Ranck
Helen Ranck
Melissa Wright
Melissa Wright
Karl Warsinski
Karl Warsinski

Zhiwei Peng Receives 2014 TMS Young Leader Professional Development Award

Zhiwei Peng
Zhiwei Peng

Research Assistant Professor Zhiwei Peng (MSE) has received a 2014 TMS Young Leader Professional Development Award from the Minerals, Metals & Materials Society. The award is supported by the TMS Foundation.

Peng, who recently completed a PhD in Materials Science and Engineering at Michigan Tech, was honored with the 2013 Bhakta Rath Award for his exceptional research on the use of microwaves to make steel. “I am truly grateful for the education at Michigan Tech which laid a solid foundation for my career,” said Peng. “I am also deeply indebted to my advisor, Jiann-Yang Hwang, for his excellent and invaluable guidance during my PhD studies.”

The award recognizes early-career individuals under the age of 40 for their potential as future leaders within TMS and the materials and engineering community. Award winners have unique opportunities to become more involved in society activities and to network with prominent TMS members.

Award winners receive complimentary 2014 TMS membership and sponsorship for their attendance at the TMS annual meeting in San Diego.

The winners were formally recognized at the 143rd TMS Annual Meeting & Exhibition in February.

From Tech Today.

Pearce on Photovoltaic Securities

Energy Policy 67 2014Theresa Alafita, a visiting scholar in MSE and Joshua Pearce (MSE/ECE) published “Securitization of Solar Photovoltaic Assets: Costs, Risks and Uncertainty,” in the journal Energy Policy.

From Tech Today.

In the News

Joshua Pearce (MSE/ECE) was quoted in PV Magazine in an article on how solar securities may offer major investment potential.

From Tech Today.

Solar securities may offer major investment potential

Pearce, an associate professor in the Department of Materials Science & Engineering and Department of Electrical & Computer Engineering explains, “Our results show that, under reasonable assumptions, securitization of solar power purchase agreements or PPAs can significantly reduce project financing costs.

Read more at PV Magazine, by Edgar Meza.

In the News

Research by visiting scholar Theresa Alafita (MSE) and Joshua Pearce (MSE/ECE) on the securitization of solar photovoltaic systems was covered by the Clean Energy Finance Forum and Renewable Energy World.

From Tech Today.

Study Shows Securitization Can Lower the Cost of Capital for Solar PV

Securitization of residential solar PV power purchase agreements (PPAs) can reduce the cost of capital for solar PV projects by between five and 13 percent, said the researchers, Theresa Alafita and Joshua Pearce.

The journal Energy Policy published the results online on Jan. 21 in an article titled “Securitization of Residential Solar Photovoltaic Assets: Costs, Risks and Uncertainty.”

Read more at Renewable Energy World, by Alexander Metz.

Change in Leadership for Information Technology

Walt Milligan, Michigan Tech’s chief information officer (CIO), has announced that he is returning to the faculty in fall 2014. He will resume his position as professor of materials science and engineering.

Milligan said he enjoyed the challenges of his eight years as CIO, “but I have really started to miss teaching and research. Last spring, I volunteered to teach Introduction to Materials Science and Engineering, and I was revitalized. I am very much looking forward to a return to faculty life.”

Read more at Tech Today.

Dean’s List Fall 2013

4.0 Students (EMSE)
Cicotte Joshua L* SO EMSE
Galligan Catherine A* SO EMSE
Hurchalla Georgia N* SO EMSE
Morgan Zachary J* SR EMSE
Paul Andrea C* SR EMSE
Thiel Alexander F* SR EMSE

3.50-3.99 Students (EMSE)
Brose Tyler J JR EMSE
Castle George W SO EMSE
Cavallaro Cleyton M JR EMSE
Cooley Robert J SR EMSE
DeVet Joshua D JR EMSE
Ellis Joshua M JR EMSE
Galant Melissa R JR EMSE
Hill Brandon R FR EMSE
Ikeda Kathleen M SR EMSE
Johnson Olin G JR EMSE
Kean Nicholas W FR EMSE
Messina Amanda M SO EMSE
Miltenberger Alexander M FR EMSE
Nitz Calvin A SR EMSE
Pietila Trent R JR EMSE
Pringle Adam M SR EMSE
Seidl Alex J SR EMSE
Thole Violet M FR EMSE
Tianen Matthew N SR EMSE
Treinen Nicole L JR EMSE
Tropper Peter D SR EMSE
Wright Melissa J SR EMSE
Yoon Min Soo SU EMSE