Tag: Beta Gamma Sigma

2022 Beta Gamma Sigma Honor Society Inductees

Group photo of Beta Gamma Sigma Honor Society Inductees
2022 Michigan Tech College of Business Beta Gamma Sigma Honor Society Inductees

The Michigan Tech College of Business (COB) inducted 21 Huskies into the Beta Gamma Sigma (BGS) honor society on April 4. Founded in 1913, BGS is the international honor society recognizing business excellence. The top 10% percent of undergraduates and the top 20% of master’s students receive the accolade; it’s the highest recognition a business student anywhere in the world can receive at institutions accredited by the Association to Advance Collegiate Schools of Business.

View additional photos of the induction ceremony in COB’s Facebook album.

Congratulations to our newest members of the Michigan Tech chapter of Beta Gamma Sigma:

Chris Arbuckle Management Information Systems Lake Orion, MI Senior
Brendon Cook Management Information Systems Hancock, MI Senior
Ezra Cotter TechMBA® Houghton, MI Graduate student
Jay Czerniak TechMBA® Medford, WI Graduate student
Joseph Gherardi Accounting Plainwell, MI Senior
Josh Golimbieski Master’s in Engineering Management Houghton, MI Graduate student
Anthony Harris TechMBA® South Range, MI Graduate student
Vitor Jordao Engineering Management Recife, Brazil Senior
Michael Karow TechMBA® Green Bay, WI Graduate student
Cedric Keller Management Information Systems Gonten, Switzerland Junior
Emily Kughn Marketing Horton, MI Senior
Benjamin Leinonen Management Atlantic Mine, MI Junior
John Paul Moody Accounting Houghton, MI Junior
Hillary Prout Accounting Rosebush, MI Junior
Henriette Semb Engineering Management Asker, Norway Junior
Jacob Stadwick Accounting Auburn Hills, MI Senior
Ivy Stoller Accounting Lowell, MI Junior
Mehdi Torbat Esfahani Master’s in Engineering Management Houghton, MI Graduate student
Erin Vandenbusch TechMBA® Green Bay, WI Graduate student
Jaxon Verhoff Marketing Menasha, WI Junior
Adam Witkowski Economics Victor, NY Junior

About the College of Business

The Michigan Tech College of Business offers undergraduate majors in accounting, construction management, economics, engineering management, finance, management, management information systems, and marketing, as well as a general business option. Graduate degrees include the TechMBA®, a Master of Engineering Management, a Master of Science in Accounting, and a Master of Science in Applied Natural Resource Economics.

2017 Beta Gamma Sigma Induction Ceremony


On Tuesday, April 4, 2017, the Michigan Technological University chapter of Beta Gamma Sigma inducted 17 new members.  Beta Gamma Sigma is an international honor society that recognizes the top 10% of undergraduates and the top 20% of master students.  Michigan Technological University’s Chapter Advisor is Senior Lecturer, Sheila Milligan. This year’s inductees are as follows:


Leslie Ditlow, Kalli Hooper, Kelsie Nummilien, Nyomie Olson, Anne Raisanen, Brenna Thompson


Tanner Flatt, Devin Kero, Emma LaFleur, Kayleigh Lake, Jackson Pundt


Jannah Brandt, Tessa Haapapuro, James Schmidt, Nicholas Steffey, Dong Xia

Each year, SBE faculty who are a part of  Beta Gamma Sigma choose an additional faculty member to induct into the society. This year, Professor of Practice, Russ Louks was inducted.

Beta Gamma Sigma Faculty Members

Dr. Mari Buche, Dr. Sonia Goltz, Dr. Dana Johnson, Dr. Dean Johnson, Mr. Bryan Lagalo, Ms. Sheila Milligan, Dr. Junhong Min, Dr. Paul Nelson, Dr. Emanuel Oliviera, Dr. Howard Qi, Mr. Joel Tuoriniemi, and Dr. Jeffrey Wall

Beta Gamma Sigma Induction Ceremony

On Monday, April 18th fifteen students and one faculty member were inducted into  Michigan Technological University’s chapter of Beta Gamma Sigma.  The ceremony was lead by Chapter Advisor and faculty, Sheila Milligan.  Beta Gamma Sigma was founded in 1913 as the first national honor society in business, and was a merger of three separate societies established to honor academic achievement in business at the University of Wisconsin, the University of Illinois, and the University of California.  Today Beta Gamma Sigma is an international honor society that provides the highest recognition a business student anywhere in the world can receive in an undergraduate or graduate program at a school accredited by AACSB International.

New Inductees include: Rachel Chard, XiaXiao Chen, Sarah Clements, Jing Feng, Kelli Guy, Jena Hale, Kaitlyn Ietala, William Hrabinsky, Nicholas Kean, Ryan Lindstrom, Jessica Muonio, Stephanie Oja, Amanda Rantala, Gina Roose, Brady Tervo.  The faculty inductee this year is Dr. Junhong Min.


Networking Equals Career Fair Success for 2011 Woman of Promise

Caitlin Pionke networks to receive job offer at DOW Chemical in Midland, Mich.

Caitlin Pionke jokingly refers to herself as a “business management major who got a job in the IT department at a chemical company.”

Pionke was named the 2011 Woman of Promise for Michigan Tech’s School of Business and Economics and has taken full advantage of the honor.  She is a senior in Management and an active student across campus belonging to Beta Gamma Sigma International Honor Society and the International Business Ventures Enterprise among other commitments.  For her, being selected as the Woman of Promise by the School of Business and Economics, opened up possibilities for networking with the Presidential Council of Alumnae (PCA) and landed her a job at DOW Chemical.

Immediately upon receiving the award this spring, Pionke began attending PCA events and developing relationships. The time she spent networking allowed her to identify helpful people who would best assist her in finding employment. Almost immediately Caitlin noticed how important networking was to her job search. She made contacts with DOW Chemical prior to the Michigan Tech Fall Career Fair and was then able to secure follow up interviews—both on campus and on site in Midland.

When thinking about her job hunt, Pionke recalls, “It was a great feeling walking up to the DOW Chemical booth at the Career Fair and having the recruiter already know me. Not only did they know my name but they had also already reviewed my resume which had been sent directly to them by my contacts in the company.”

Networking undoubtedly played a large role in her success at the Career Fair.  Pionke noted that for her it wasn’t just the day of the Career Fair that was important, but rather Career Fair month.  Prior to the event she sent out resumes to targeted companies and followed up with thank-yous after the fair.  Even though DOW Chemical did not list that they were looking for Business Management majors, Pionke’s networking had allowed her to stand apart from the crowd and prove herself worthy of an interview.

Pionke will begin her new job at DOW Chemical in Midland, MI as an Information Systems Analyst on June 18th.  Our School is happy to report that she is living up to her name as the 2011 Woman of Promise.