Day: April 6, 2015

Hannah Wilder Selected as 2015 CS Departmental Scholar

Hannah Wilder
Hannah Wilder and CS Department Chair Dr. Min Song

CS student Hannah Wilder has been selected as the 2015 CS Department Scholar by the department faculty. This award is in recognition of Wilder’s outstanding academic accomplishments during her career at Michigan Tech. Hannah will be recognized, along with all other department scholars, on Friday, April 17, 2015 at the 21st Annual Student Leadership Awards.

Michigan Tech Sweeps Top Honors at NMU Programming Competition

Michigan Tech placed 1st overall in the competition

On Saturday March 28th, thirty-six Michigan Tech students took part in the 16th Annual NMU Invitational Programming Contest.  The students sent a record number of 13 teams of up to three students to compete against 18 other teams from Northern Michigan University, Lake Superior State University, Algoma University, and The College of St. Scholastica (Duluth, MN).  Michigan Tech also sponsored the first ever high school teams to compete in the NMU Invitational; two teams comprised of students who participate in the Copper Country Programmers.

Teams worked for five hours on six programming problems.  The final ranking is determined by the number of problems that are completed correctly with ties broken by the number of minutes taken to solve the problems.
The Michigan Tech team of Mitch Davis, Hurricane Hamilton, and Chad Meyers placed first solving five of the six problems.  Second place went to the team of Corey Bilski, Chris Wallis, and Eric Zimmer solving 4 problems.  Third place went to the team of Mike Grimes, Brendan Kerrigan, and John Novak.
The strong overall performance of the teams resulted in a 1st place school ranking for Michigan Tech.  The continued success of Michigan Tech teams at the NMU and ACM programming competitions has benefited greatly over the years from Prof. David Poplawski’s direction and creation of an elective course on competitive programming  (CS1090).
Additional information on the programming competition, rules, and full results are available at: