Day: February 24, 2010

Spring 2010 Finishing Fellowships Awarded

The Graduate School has awarded its Finishing Fellowships for spring 2010.

The following PhD candidates have received a one-time award:

  • Shreehari Elangovan, Mechanical Engineering-Engineering Mechanics
  • Margot J. Hutchins, Mechanical Engineering-Engineering Mechanics
  • Aaron David LaLonde, Materials Science and Engineering
  • Sara Robinson, Forest Science
  • Yuejun Yin, Civil Engineering

The fellowships are made possible by the Graduate School.

Application procedures for the Graduate School fellowship programs and photographs of recent recipients can be found online. Nominations are currently open for Finishing Fellowships and Dean’s Fellowships.

If you have any questions, contact Debra Charlesworth.

Rail Transportation Program Announces Cross-Disciplinary Scholarship Opportunities

Over $10,000 in designated railroad scholarships are available for graduate or undergraduate students in any discipline with an interest in railroad transportation. Interested students are encourage to apply for AREMA, CSX Transportation and UP Railroad scholarships.

CSX Transportation offers two $1,000 Diversity Scholarships open to all undergraduate students in any discipline with an interest in railroad transportation. Preference will be given to females and minorities involved in rail activities.

UP Railroad has three scholarships available to students (graduate or undergraduate) in any discipline with an interest in rail transportation. Each scholarship is worth $2,000.

American Railway and Maintenance-of-Way Association (AREMA) has two $1,000 scholarships available for Rail Engineering and Activities Club (REAC) members. One scholarship will be available to an officer of REAC and another awarded to a student involved with the club. All applications to AREMA are eligible for over $37,000 of other AREMA scholarships. In the past, Michigan Tech students have received numerous AREMA scholarships.

CSX and UP applications must be received by Bill Sproule by Friday, March 5. AREMA scholarships must be received by AREMA by Friday, March 12. Only one AREMA application is necessary for all available AREMA scholarships.

Guidelines and applications
can be downloaded online.

Published in Tech Today