Briana Bettin Is Finalist for Distinguished Teaching Award

Briana Bettin

Briana Bettin, Computer Science and Cognitive and Learning Sciences, is among the 2022 finalists for the annual Michigan Tech Distinguished Teaching Award.

The William G. Jackson Center for Teaching and Learning (CTL) seeks input for its annual Distinguished Teaching Awards, which recognize outstanding contributions to the instructional mission of the University. Based on more than 50,000 student ratings of instruction responses, 12 finalists have been identified for the 2022 awards. The selection committee is soliciting comments from students, staff, faculty and alumni to aid in deliberation.

Assistant Professor/Lecturer/Professor of Practice Finalists:

  • Claire Danielson (BioSci), Lecturer
  • Adam Meckler (VPA), Assistant Professor
  • Leyre Alegre-Figuero (HU), Senior Lecturer
  • Nancy Barr (ME-EM), Professor of Practice
  • Smitha Rao (BioMed), Assistant Professor
  • Ulrich Schmelzle (COB), Assistant Professor
  • Briana Bettin (CS), Assistant Professor

Associate Professor/Professor Finalists:

  • Amy Marcarelli (BioSci), Professor
  • Stephen Techtmann (BioSci), Associate Professor
  • Molly Cavaleri (CFRES), Associate Professor
  • Junhong Min (COB), Associate Professor
  • Stefka Hristova (HU), Associate Professor

Comments on the nominees are due by April 4, 2022, and can be completed online. The process for determining the Distinguished Teaching Award recipients from this list of finalists also involves the additional surveying of their spring classes. The selection committee makes the final determination of the award recipients. The 2022 Distinguished Teaching Awards will be formally announced in May.

For more information, contact the CTL at or 906-487-3000.