Ryan Klemm Is 2023 Computer Science Departmental Scholar

Ryan Klemm ’24, a third-year B.S. in Computer Science major, has been selected as the 2023 Computer Science Departmental Scholar. A stellar student, his journey at Michigan Tech includes numerous achievements.

Klemm is a recipient of the National Science Foundation Scholarship for Service, a leading competitor and officer of the MTU RedTeam, a research assistant in the MTU Security and Privacy Lab, and an instructor for the local middle/high school Husky Cyber Team.

“Ryan is an excellent undergraduate student and he has won a lot of top achievements in national-level cybersecurity, programming, and mathematics competitions,” says Associate Professor Bo Chen, Department of Computer Science.

The Computer Science Departmental Scholar Award, established by the Office of the Provost, recognizes a student who will have senior status the next academic year and who represents the best of student scholarship in the department, especially in the areas of intellectual curiosity, creativity, and communication. Department Scholars are nominated for the Provost’s Award for Scholarship to be selected later this spring.

Klemm, along with all 2023 department scholars, will be recognized at the Annual Student Leadership Awards Celebration on Friday, April 14, 2023.

Pictured: (Left to right) Adam Fulton (NCSA), Peter LaMantia (Software Eng), Ryan Klemm (CS), Josh Stiebel (Computer Eng), Sophia Kraus (Electrical Eng), Hunter Indermuehle (Electrical Eng), Ryan Jaklic (Cybersecurity), Gina Adrangna (Cybersecurity), and Devon Midkiff (Cybersecurity).