Author: College of Engineering

Sue Hill is the Digital Content Manager for the College of Engineering.

2012 Undergraduate Expo Winners

ExpoUndergraduate Expo 2012

Expo Awards

Senior Design Awards to MSE Projects

Taking first place was Bioabsorbable Polymer-Coated Metal Stent Degradation Simulation Design. The students devised a better way to check for the degrading of stents, which are inserted into arteries, both in vitro (in the lab) and in vivo (in the living subject). Team members were Kristina Price, Brendan Daun, Thomas Faulkner, Erin Larson, Derek Yesmunt and David Strobel (Biomedical Engineering); and Kelsey Waugh and Matt Gardeski (MSE). The team was sponsored by Boston Scientific and advised by Associate Professor Jeremy Goldman (Biomedical Engineering) and Associate Professor Jaroslaw Drelich (MSE).

Second place went to the Economic Recovery of Alloying Elements from Grinding Swarf. The students speculated that they could help metal-grinding operations reclaim cobalt and nickel, in addition to other metals, from the waste or “swarf.” It could produce as much as $1.75 million in a year. The team consisted of Alicia Steele (MSE/ME); and Daniel Hein, Michael Wyzlic and Nicholas Kraft (MSE). They worked with the Casting Services Group of ThyssenKrupp. Jaroslaw Drelich was their advisor, too.

Ruth Kramer Receives 2012 Clair M. Donovan Award

Ruth I KramerThe Clair M. Donovan Award is awarded to a member of the faculty, staff, or student body of Michigan Technological University who has contributed the most outstanding service during the preceding year. The Michigan Tech chapter of Blue Key Honor Society sponsors the award.

The recipient of the 2012 Clair M. Donovan award for service is Ruth Kramer, advisor in the material sciences and engineering department. Blue Key noted that Kramer not only shows a dedication to postsecondary education, but to secondary education as well: “She hosts many departmental outreach events which get high school teachers and students excited about the opportunities that Michigan Tech has to offer.

The Clair M. Donovan Award is awarded to a member of the faculty, staff, or student body of Michigan Technological University who has contributed the most outstanding service during the preceding year. The Michigan Tech chapter of Blue Key Honor Society sponsors the award.

Mechanism of Humins Formation during Catalytic Conversion of Cellulose-Derived Carbohydrates

Friday, April 20, 2012
11:00 am – 12:00 pm
Room 610, M&M Building
Carl R. F. Lund
Dept. of Chemical and Biological Engineering
University at Buffalo, Buffalo, NY

John & Virginia Towers Distinguished Lecture Series


Cellulosic biomass represents a potential resource for sustainable production of fuels and chemicals. When cellulose is hydrolyzed using mineral acids as catalysts, dark-colored, tarry solids known as humins form as undesirable by-products. The formation and growth of humins have been investigated using small batch reactors, and the resulting humins have been characterized, primarily using scanning electron microscopy and infrared spectroscopy. The aqueous phase free energies of proposed reaction intermediates have been computed using quantum chemistry. The experimental and computational results are consistent with a sequential pathway for the formation of humins. The primary reaction proceeds through the sequential conversions of cellulose to glucose (perhaps) to fructose to HMF to levulinic acid. The predominant pathway for the formation of humins involves the conversion to HMF to 2,5-dioxo- 6-hydroxyhexanal (DHH). DHH rapidly undergoes aldol addition/condensation with available aldehydes or ketones. The resulting adduct then polymerizes to form humins. The experimental studies have shown that humin morphology, size and size distribution are affected by solvent choice. It has also been established that chemical functional groups can be added to the humins during or after their formation. These finding might lead to ways to convert humins from a waste byproduct to a more valuable commodity.

Bio: Dr. Lund is a SUNY Distinguished Professor. He was a department chair from 1997 to 2006. He obtained his B. S. from Purdue University in 1976 and Ph. D. from University of Wisconsin–Madison in 1981. His research interests include heterogeneous catalysis for energy and environmental applications, reaction engineering of membrane reactors, and biomass conversion. He received many awards, including NSF Presidential Young Investigator, SUNY Chancellor’s Award for Excellence in Teaching, and Lilly Teaching Fellow. He published more than 70 peer-reviewed papers.

Characterization of Trap States in HfO2 with Atomic Scale Spatial Resolution Using Single Electron Tunneling Force Spectroscopy

Friday, April 13, 2012
3:00 pm – 4:00 pm
Room 610, M&M Building
Dustin Winslow
University of Utah
The rapid advancement of technology has led to increasingly faster and smaller solid state devices. One reason for this rapid development is the dedicated effort to characterize the defects in the dielectric materials used in solid state electronics. While many techniques have been developed over the years to characterize trap states in dielectric materials no technique has allowed for characterization of localized electron and hole trap states, in completely nonconducting films, with atomic scale spatial resolution. This talk will focus on the force detected tunneling techniques developed in the Williams lab at the University of Utah over the last decade, with an emphasis on the recently developed single electron tunneling force spectroscopy (SETFS) technique. The apparent density of localized trap states in HfO2 measured using SETFS will be compared to experimental results and theoretically predicted values found in the literature. The convoluted nature of the apparent energy and physical depth information of the trap states will be discussed, and the methodology to separate this information will be explained. Finally, evidence of mobile charge in HfO2 will be presented and a possible mechanism proposed to explain the irreversible nature of the surface charging.

Hu Attends ACS Meeting

Associate Professor Yun Hang Hu (MSE) attended the 243rd meeting of the American Chemical Society (ACS) in San Diego in late March.

Hu was the program chair of the ACS fuel chemistry division, which featured 68 sessions and 607 papers (a record since 1961) presented by scientists worldwide.

With more than 164,000 members, the ACS is the world’s largest scientific society and one of the world’s leading sources of authoritative scientific information.

The fuel chemistry division (renamed energy and fuels division) is one of 32 technical divisions.

Read more at Tech Today.

MSE Entries in Expo 2012

Expo2012 Undergraduate Expo Entries

Title and Representative

Economic Recovery of Alloying Elements from Grinding Swarf
Alicia Steele

Reduce Distortion in Ferritic Nitrocarburizing of Gray Iron
Carol Deming

Fatigue in Stainless Steel Components Produced by Powder Metallurgy & Hot Isostatic Pressing
Samantha Leonard

EZAC Creep Testing Team
Deane Kyle

Effects of Mn and Sn on Ductile Iron
Dale Goodloe

Residual Stress of Gray Iron Brake Rotors
Carol Dem

Waupaca FNC Case Depth
Ashwin, Vekaria


Advanced Metalworks Enterprise
Zac Dvorak