Tag: expire

Expire

You can schedule a page to expire at a specific date and time. The available options depend on the file type and your access permissions. Expire options can be reached from the Pages List View by hovering over the item and selecting Expire under the Publish dropdown or from the dropdown arrow next to the green Publish button when you have the page open.

There are different options for expiring content, Replace or Recycle. For each option you have the ability to send a notification to yourself or a group of users. It will be sent with the CMS and you can select the Send Copy to Email checkbox to also send a notification to the user’s Michigan Tech email. You will select the To from the dropdown, enter a Subject, and enter a Message.

Before removing any page you should first check its dependencies.

Check Dependencies

Before recycling or deleting content, you should always check to see what other pages or files are linking to that content. You can do this with the Dependency Tag Info sidebar gadget.

  1. Go to your main folder.
  2. Open the sidebar gadgets using the plug icon in the upper right corner. gadgets-icon
  3. Open the Dependency Tag Info gadget.
  4. Type the path of your file, without the first site folder, in the search box. For example, if you wanted to check on https://www.mtu.edu/umc/services/digital/, you would enter /services/digital/index.pcf.
  5. Click the search icon.
  6. Information about the item will show up below the search box.

Subscribers are any other files in the CMS that are linking to the file you searched. Be sure to update those links or contact the other department to let them know the page is being removed

Replace

Selecting this option will schedule to replace the file with the contents of another.

replace

  • Date: The date you want the page to expire on. Click in the date field or on the calendar icon for a date picker or enter the date in the field manually.
  • Time: The time at which the expiration will take place. Click in the time field or on the clock icon for a time picker and click the arrows to set the hour, minute, and AM or PM or enter the time in the field manually.
  • Replace With: Click the page icon next to the field to select the replacement file in the CMS.
  • Notification: Information for the notification.
  • Click the blue Schedule button when you are done.

Recycle

Selecting this option will schedule the file to be removed from the site and put it in the Recycle Bin, which can be restored if needed.

recycle

  • Date: The date you want the page to expire on. Click in the date field or on the calendar icon for a date picker or enter the date in the field manually.
  • Time: The time at which the expiration will take place. Click in the time field or on the clock icon for a time picker and click the arrows to set the hour, minute, and AM or PM or enter the time in the field manually.
  • Notification: Information for the notification.
  • Click the blue Schedule button when you are done.

Continue Reading


File Status

OU Campus has status indicators that help make clear why a page is not available for editing as well as who has checked out a page, scheduled an action, or if the page is in the process of a workflow. These icons are shown on many of the screens that display content lists, most notably the File Navigation sidebar, Pages list view, and the My Checked-Out Content gadget.

Checked Out/In

The checked out/in icon, represented by a light bulb, reflects the state of an OU Campus page or file. When a page or file is checked out no other users can make changes to the item until it has been checked back in. A page is automatically checked out to a user when they begin editing it.

Make sure to check the page back in when you are finished editing so it can be made available to other users. You can check a page back in by:

  • Sending it to another user for review
  • Publishing it
  • Clicking the lit light bulb icon

Tip: You can quickly use the My Checked Out Content gadget to see files that are checked out to you and check them back in.

When a page is checked out, others users can:

  • Edit access settings
  • Edit reminders
  • Preview the page
  • View the log
  • Copy the file

File Status Icons

Icon Description
 checked-in An unlit light bulb indicates that the item is checked in and can be checked out for editing by any user with the proper permissions.
 checked-out A lit light bulb indicates that the item is checked out to the current user that is logged in.
 locked A red lock indicates that the item is checked out to another user. You can hover over the lock to see who has it checked out.
 scheduled-publish A green calendar icon is the status indicator for a publish scheduled by the current user. Digital Services or the individual who scheduled the publish can click on the icon to change the publish date and time or cancel the publish completely.
scheduled-publish-other A red calendar icon is the status indicator for a publish scheduled by another user. Digital Services or the individual who schedule the publish can click on the icon to change the publish date and time or cancel the publish completely.
 scheduled-expire A red circle with a line through it is the status indicator for a scheduled expire. A scheduled expire can be removed or rescheduled by the user who scheduled it. Digital Services can check in the page, which effectively cancels the scheduled expiration. This icon is displayed to all users, not just the user who scheduled the expiration.
 approval A blue thumbs up icon indicates that content is awaiting the current user’s approval. The content needs to be approved by the current user to be published.
 sent-approval A blue person indicates that the content has been sent by the current user to another user for approval. The content is in the approval workflow.

Continue Reading