Category: Uncategorized

SBE Management Student Malcolm Gould Signs with Pro Hockey-Indy Fuel

Malcolm GouldThree Hockey Seniors Sign Pro Contracts

Three members of the Michigan Tech hockey senior class have signed professional contracts to continue their hockey careers.

Alex Petan signed with the Iowa Wild of the American Hockey League, while CJ Eick (Utah Grizzlies) and Malcolm Gould (Indy Fuel) have inked deals to play in the ECHL.

Petan, who is a Hobey Baker Memorial Award top-10 finalist, led the WCHA in goals (16), points (29), goals-per-game (0.59), points-per-game (1.07) and power-play points (13) en route to WCHA Player of the Year honors. The Delta, British Columbia, native also secured All-WCHA First Team and WCHA Scholar-Athlete recognition this winter.

Eick, a three-time WCHA Scholar-Athlete, moved to center this season and finished second on the team with 16 assists while appearing in all 37 games. The Appleton, Wisconsin, native tallied five multi-point games and career-high three assists on Feb. 20 at Bemidji State.

Gould earned a spot on an All-WCHA team for the second straight year after finishing second on the Huskies during the WCHA regular season with 22 points on seven goals and 15 assists. The forward collected five power-play goals and had a WCHA-leading plus-18 rating in conference action.

Project Management Institute Competition

Each year Michigan Tech’s OSM4200 Advanced Project Management course competes in the West Michigan Chapter of the Project Management Institute (PMI) competition in Grand Rapids Michigan. This year’s project plan was based on improving the health of children ages 5-18 years of age in the State of Michigan. Michigan Tech Team B placed 3rd out of 13 teams in THE Project 2016 project management plan competition on Monday, April 11, 2016 held in Grand Rapids, MI.  The team’s mentor was Shawn Rathbun, a Michigan Tech alum. Dr. Dana Johnson, Professor of Supply Chain and Engineering Management was the teams Project Champion and Faculty Advisor.  The team members were:

Erika Tenizbaeva, Undergraduate Student – Management major with concentration in Supply Chain and Operations Management

Kwang Suthijindawong: Undergraduate Student – Management Information Systems and Operations & System Management majors

Syed Awn Muhammad Jafri: Graduate Student in Electrical Engineering

Karan Gujarathi: Graduate Student in Mechanical Engineering

Cody Waffle: Undergraduate Student – Engineering Management

This is the fifth year of the competition. Michigan Tech is the only University to place at least one team in the top four for all five years.  This year’s team was awarded $2,000 to split between the team members.  To learn more about the competition,

– Story by Dr. Dana Johnson


SBE Faculty Recognized by Fraternities and Sororities

On Sunday, about 250 students gathered for the 10th Annual Greek Life Awards Ceremony in the MUB Ballroom.

In addition to the many student awards presented, Order of Omega, the Greek Life Honor Society that coordinates the awards, also took the time to recognize some exceptional faculty and staff.

There are more than 500 students in fraternities and sororities at Michigan Tech and Order of Omega wants to emphasize Outstanding Faculty and Staff Awards come directly from the students.

When writing a nomination for the Outstanding Faculty Award, students were asked to consider faculty who:
are dedicated to supporting students and helping them succeed academically
demonstrate a passion for teaching and/or research
utilize innovative teaching methods
promote academic integrity among students
When writing a nomination for the Outstanding Staff Award, students were asked to consider staff who:
are dedicated to supporting students and helping them succeed both inside and outside the classroom
demonstrate a passion for working with students
promote and inspire the Michigan Tech Values of Community, Scholarship, Possibilities, Accountability and Tenacity

The following faculty and staff members were nominated by members of the Greek community and were recognized at the 2016 Greek Life Awards Ceremony (winners in bold):

Dana Johnson (SBE)
Jeffrey Wall (SBE)
Ted Anderson (SoT)
Tony Rogers (ChE)
Cody Kangas (Center for Pre-College Outreach)
Jannah Brandt (Center for Pre-College Outreach)
Mark Maroste (Auxiliary Services)
Whitney Boroski (Wellness)

These nominations were written by individual students and were supported by an entire fraternity or sorority.

In addition, Ellen Horsch, VP for Administration, was honored with the Outstanding Chapter Advisor of the Year Award. Ellen has served as an advisor for Alpha Gamma Delta Women’s Fraternity for 30 years.

Congratulations to all the faculty and staff who were nominated and thank you for inspiring and motivating students!

Story from Tech Today on Tuesday, April 12, 2016

Economic Equality and Entrepreneurship: SBE Faculty Publish Top Paper

1-27-16 Tech Today

A paper about the role that economic inequality may play on entrepreneurial entry, co-authored by Emanuel Xavier-Oliveira (SBE) and Andre Laplume (SBE) (as well as Pathak from KSU), was chosen as one of the top 10 papers of the year 2015 published in the Human Relations Journal (ranked #5 in Social Sciences, Interdisciplinary).

This recognition is awarded by the journal’s editorial team to the papers that best encapsulate broad readership appeal, sound methods and whose theories advance knowledge.

SBE Management Student, Tyler Heinonen, WCHA Player of the Month

HeinonenHeinonen Named WCHA Player of the Month

by Zackary Friedli, director of new media, athletics

Michigan Tech junior forward Tyler Heinonen has been named the WCHA Player of the Month for November.

Heinonen score six times and added four assists for 10 points in eight outings. The winger led the WCHA in goals, points, power-play goals and game-winners during the month after earning points in six-of-eight games.

The Delano, Minn., native was named the WCHA Offensive Player of the Week on Nov. 23 after his six-point weekend at Michigan State and is the first Michigan Tech player to earn WCHA Player of the Month honors.