Tag: backup

Versions

A unique version of a page is saved through the automatic version control system every time a page is published. A backup version of a page can also be created manually with the use of the Save Version button.

All versions of the page are kept in the system until the page is deleted. There is no limit to the number of versions that are stored in the system for an individual page or across all pages in the site. If a file is moved to the Recycle Bin and then restored, versions will still be preserved.

Versions can be accessed from the Pages List View by hovering over the row and selecting Versions from the Review menu. You can also access it from the Page Actions toolbar when you have a page open. Versions are only available if there is more than one version and you must have the item checked out.

versions

This screen:

  • Shows the number of versions for the page in parentheses.
  • Includes a filter field where you can filter the versions by version number or user.
  • Shows a sortable list of versions including the revision number for the page, the date it was saved, the page author, and the version description given with the version save or publish.
  • Indicates which version is currently live.
  • Allows for reverting to a previous version of the page.
  • Provides the ability to compare a version to the current live version.

Watch the OU Campus Tutorial Video

Continue Reading


Revert

Revert allows you to restore any previously published version of a page or include file to the staging server. Reverting a page to a selected version makes that chosen version the one that is available for editing on the staging server. It must then be published for that version to go to the live site. To revert a page to a previous version hover over the desired version in the Versions screen and select Revert. From the confirmation window you can view the chosen version by clicking the link within the text before clicking the blue Revert button to confirm the selection. You can also view the version by selecting Page in the View menu when hovering over the desired revision.

Watch the OU Campus Tutorial Video

Continue Reading


Compare Versions

Within the Versions screen, the Compare feature allows you to compare different versions of a page. Additions, deletions, and format changes of page content are displayed graphically, so you can easily see what changes have been made across versions. Additions will appear in green, deletions in red, and format changes in blue.

Clicking the Compare to Live button at the top of the screen will compare the current version in staging to the version that is currently live.

To compare a previous version with the current version in staging hover over the old version you want to compare and select Page from the Compare menu.
Watch the OU Campus Tutorial Video

Continue Reading


Save Version

Although a unique version of a page is saved automatically in the CMS version control system every time a page is published you may want to create a version manually. For example, after editing and saving a page several times you may want to save a version.

To save a version in the Pages List View you must have the item checked out. Hover over the row for the item and select Save Version from the Review menu. You can also access it from the Save Version icon save-version-icon in the Page Actions toolbar when you have a page open.

save-version

In the window that pops up you can click the linked text to see a preview of the page as it currently exists. It is recommended that you enter some descriptive text for the version as this will be viewable from the Versions screen later and can be useful to differentiate between versions. When you are done, click the Save Version button.
Watch the OU Campus Tutorial Video

Continue Reading