Tag: version control

Versions

A unique version of a page is saved through the automatic version control system every time a page is published. A backup version of a page can also be created manually with the use of the Save Version function.

Two years of versions of the page are kept in the system until the page is deleted. There is no limit to the number of versions that are stored in the system during those two years for an individual page or across all pages in the site. If a file is moved to the Recycle Bin and then restored, versions will still be preserved.


Revert

Revert allows you to restore any previously published version of a page or include file to the staging server. Reverting a page to a selected version makes that chosen version the one that is available for editing on the staging server. It must then be published for that version to go to the live site.

To revert a page to a previous version in the row for the desired version in the Versions screen open the More Actions menu and select Revert.

Revert option in More Actions on the Versions screen.

From the confirmation window you can view the chosen version by clicking the link within the text before clicking the blue Revert button to confirm the selection.

Revert window.

You can also view the version by selecting Page under View menu in the More Actions menu for the desired revision.

View Page option in the more actions menu of Versions.

Watch the Omni CMS Tutorial Video


Compare Versions

Within the Versions screen, the Compare feature allows you to compare different versions of a page. Additions, deletions, and format changes of page content are displayed graphically, so you can easily see what changes have been made across versions.

  • Strikethrough (red) shows content that was removed.
  • Underline (green) shows content that was added.
  • Wavy underline (blue) shows formatting changes.