Category: Uncategorized

The Importance of Diversity, Equity and Inclusion

The Diversity Council at Michigan Tech shared the article below in today’s edition of Tech Today.

During this global pandemic, we must continue to value diversity, equity and an inclusive community. We’ve all seen the disparate effects of the disease itself and the stay-at-home policy response in our lives and our communities. The disease has disproportionately taken the lives of people of color, the elderly, and those with pre-existing health conditions. The work-from-home period eliminated child and elder care, placing additional care burdens on faculty and staff with care responsibilities, reducing their professional productivity. The disease has emboldened discriminatory actions targeting immigrants and foreign workers, as well as their descendants. Many students have struggled to finish their schoolwork without the on-campus support systems on which they depend. Many in our Michigan Tech community, and their families, have faced economic hardship from job losses. This disease has caused a devastating effect on our economy on every level: our students, employees, the community and the world as a whole.

Now is not the time to push diversity, equity and inclusion work aside. Doing so will place us even further behind in our community-building efforts when the pandemic comes to an end (however and whenever that happens). Now is the time to exercise our compassion, realizing that we don’t always see the burdens that our colleagues, students and friends carry with them. It is also our time to place the safety and well-being of others at the forefront of our minds as we go forward.

Bo Chen Named ASME Fellow

Originally Posted by Mechanical Engineering-Engineering Mechanics in Tech Today on May 28, 2020

Bo Chen (ME-EM) has received the designation of Fellow from the American Society of Mechanical Engineers (ASME).

The ASME Committee of Past Presidents confers the Fellow grade of membership on worthy candidates to recognize their outstanding engineering achievements.

Nominated by ASME Members and Fellows, an ASME Member has to have 10 or more years of active practice and at least 10 years of active corporate membership in ASME.

William Predebon, chair of the the Department of Mechanical Engineering-Engineering Mechanics said, “Dr. Chen has made major contributions in her field of embedded systems with application to hybrid-electric and electric autonomous systems. Her course in Model-based Embedded Control System Design is regularly in high demand by not only ME students but also EE students. This is a testament to the importance of the topic and her teaching ability.

Chen conducts interdisciplinary research in the areas of mechatronics and embedded systems, agent technology, modeling and control of hybrid electric vehicles, cyber-physical systems and automation.

Baird Elected To International Journal’s Editorial Board

The short article below originally appeared in Tech Today on May 14. ADVANCE at Michigan Tech would like to extend our congratulations to Melissa Baird, a member of our Internal Evaluation and Advisory Board, for this accomplishment.

Melissa Baird (SS) was elected to the editorial board of the International Journal of Heritage Studies (IJHS). Board members include a team of international heritage scholars and experts who review manuscripts and advise on journal policy and scope.

New Funding for Michigan Tech Researchers!

Congratulations to Momoko Taijiri, Valoree Gagnon, and Gord Patterson on new funding! The story below was originally published in Tech Today on April 29, 2020.

Momoko Tajiri (Chemistry/MuSTI) is the prinicpal investigator on a project that has received a $33,597 research and development grant from the Michigan Department of Agriculture and Rural Development-Michigan Craft Beer Council.

The project is entitled, “Berries & Brews: Understanding the Market and Technological Processing Opportunities of Michigan Grown Fruit in the Craft Beverage Industry”. Jenny Apriesnig (College of Business/MuSTI), Ezequiel Medici (MEEM/MuSTI), Kazuya Tajiri (MEEM/MuSTI), Lynn Mazzoleni (Chemistry/MuSTI), and Martin Thompson (Chemistry/MuSTI) are co-PIs on this 16-month project.

Valoree Gagnon (GLRC) is the principal investigator on a project that has received a $75,000 research and development cooperative agreement from the University of Michigan.

The project is entitled, “Anishinaabe-Gikendaasowin Integrated Assessment Research in the Keweenaw Bay Indian Community for Stewardship and Governance Partnerships”. This is a potential two-year project.

Gordon Paterson (Biological Sciences/GLRC) is the principal investigator on a project that has received a $68,519 research and development contract from the Great Lakes Fishery Commission.

The project is entitled, “An Epigenetic Assessment of Stamp Sand Toxicity to Salmonid Eggs from Buffalo Reef, Lake Superior”. Kristin Brzeski (CFRES/GLRC) is the co-PI on this potential two-year project.

Chadde Receives Award from Michigan Science Teachers Association

Joan Chadde, director of the Michigan Tech Center for Science and Environmental Outreach, has received a prestigious award from the Michigan Science Teachers Association (MSTA).

Chadde accepted the 2020 Informal Science Teacher of the Year Award at the MSTA’s annual conference held March 6-7 in Lansing.

The Board of the Michigan Science Teachers Association (MSTA) announced in December that Chadde was chosen for her unique and extraordinary accomplishments, active leadership, scholarly contributions, and direct and substantial contributions to the improvement of non-school based science education over a significant period of time.

Interdisciplinary Team Receives New Funding

An interdisciplinary team of researchers from Michigan Tech including Melissa Baird (Social Sciences), Trista Vick-Majors (Biological Sciences), and Guy Meadows (Director, Marine Engineering Laboratory) have recently received funding from The Cooperative Institute of Great Lakes Research (CIGLR) to study oil spills in icy conditions. The team will be working with researchers from Michigan State University, University of Michigan, and Lake Superior State University on the project.

Learn more in the Tech Today article below.

Don’t Judge A Book By Its Cover. But What About Viruses?

We’ve all heard the old adage “don’t judge a book by its cover.” Dr. Caryn Heldt, Director of the Health Research Institute here at Michigan Tech, is reversing that old adage to fight viruses.

Making quick judgments based on superficial features can introduce biased perceptions of others. But when it comes to viruses, Dr. Heldt’s research suggests that virus surface chemistry analyzed from small samples of a virus can be key to making quick characterizations and predictions.

ADVANCE applauds Dr. Heldt’s research (part of her NSF CAREER Award) featured recently on the Michigan Tech News blog as well as the collaborative efforts of her research team, recently published in Langmuir and highlighted in the BioTechniques Daily Newsletter.