Category: Omni CMS

Profile Snippet

This snippet is traditionally used for information about people that are not employees, such as alumni or student award winners, this snippet can include a photo and text on the left with a short description on the right to be used on a listing page with several other profiles. The short listing then includes a link to a full-page listing. If you would like to use this layout on just one page, not a short version and long version, you should use the Row w/ Left Image snippet instead.

profile-short profile-full


Blockquote Snippet

This snippet creates a formatted blockquote that includes the quote and the author. View the blockquote in the Style Guide.

blockquote


(Video has no sound.)

  1. Insert the snippet.
  2. Edit the quote and author content.
  3. If you do not have an author, you must edit the code to remove <span class=”author”>Author Name</span> in the code view or put your cursor at the end of the quote and press the delete key (in the section on a keyboard between the letters and number pad).


(Video has no sound.)

When used inside the Row w/ Background snippet it will have different styling.
Blockquote snippet in a row with background.


(Video has no sound.)


Video/360 Image Snippet

This snippet creates an embedded video or 360 image in your page’s main content area, additional content area, or right sidebar. To include a video at the very top of the page (known as the mediazone or hero area), follow the instructions for MultiEdit Content.

The size of the video/image will automatically adjust based on the location you insert it. A title and description can be included beneath it.

Example of an embedded video with a Title and Description.


Versions

A unique version of a page is saved through the automatic version control system every time a page is published. A backup version of a page can also be created manually with the use of the Save Version function.

Two years of versions of the page are kept in the system until the page is deleted. There is no limit to the number of versions that are stored in the system during those two years for an individual page or across all pages in the site. If a file is moved to the Recycle Bin and then restored, versions will still be preserved.


Unpublish (Recycle) and Restore

To remove content from a live site, pages and files must be moved to the Recycle Bin. Pages that are moved to the Recycle Bin can be restored, if necessary. When a page is recycled the published content is automatically removed. Once a page is deleted from the Recycle Bin or a folder is deleted, it can no longer be retrieved. Files that have been in the Recycle Bin for two years or more will be deleted twice yearly, in November and May.

If you are removing an entire folder, you should first recycle all content items within the folder, then delete the folder itself. If you delete the folder it will delete all items within it and that content will not be able to be restored. Before removing any page you should first check its dependencies.


Expire

You can schedule a page to expire at a specific date and time. The available options depend on the file type and your access permissions. Expire options can be reached from the Pages List View by opening the More Actions menu and selecting Expire under the Publish dropdown or from the dropdown arrow next to the green Publish button when you have the page open.

Expire option under the Publish menu on the Pages List View.

Expire option under the Publish dropdown on a page.

There are different options for expiring content, Replace or Recycle. For each option you have the ability to send a notification to yourself or a group of users. It will be sent with the CMS and you can select the Send Copy to Email checkbox to also send a notification to the user’s Michigan Tech email. You will select the To from the dropdown, enter a Subject, and enter a Message.

Before removing any page you should first check its dependencies.